Maharaja Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
The flavors don't blend very nicely. Tastes like chicken in tomato sauce. Try the Tikka Masala recipe, it's much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa Sakowski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
It was pretty good after a few minor changes. First, I added salt, since the recipe didn't call for any. Then, I found it to be a little too tomatoey, and spicey, so I added about a cup of plain yogourt, which did the trick. Also, when pureeing it, I would advise you to puree the onions and cumin first, cuz the cumin seeds stay whole if pureeing with the tomatoes. Also, I used beef pieces(for stir fry), and sauteed them a bit in the pan before adding the rest. It came out really good. I loved the flavor of the spices together. Served with basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 29, 2007
A wonderful balance of flavors and very easy to make. My husband cnat tolerate very hot foods, so it turned out a bit too spicey for him (perfect for me), but I added some yogurt to the sauce and that worked perfectly to cut down the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Excellent! and easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Never knew how to make curry, and I didn't realize how easy it actually was. I threw mine together using a 15oz can of diced tomatoes and used 3 cloves of garlic instead of one. I too, like another reviewer, am a garlicaholic. I actually had a blender handy and pureed it real quick, and it turned out great! I threw it on top of some whole grain rice and it made a great meal. Also, when it says simmer gently, I’d recommend placing a lid partway over it. The sauce is thick making the bubbles bigger causing it to splatter a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Very tasty! I prepared with lamb cubes, and did it in a slow cooker on low for 8 hours. Was delicious! I upped the cayenne and garam masala a little. Next time will try on the stove, but I was worried about overdoing the lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
my whole family loved it. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colombo, Western, Sri Lanka
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Very easy to make. I will use less cayenne next time. It is spicey. I used coconut juice instead of water. Very yummy! I serve mine over broccoli or spinach with paneer cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I like the spiciness of this recipe and its authenticity. Instead of using fresh tomatoes, I used two cans of diced tomatoes (no salt added) and skipped the pureeing. Made it much simpler, and I preferred the consistency. I also appreciate that this is a low-fat meal. Not having to brown the chicken is a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Not that great... I live in London mind you and am used to awesome curries. It was too spicy and rather flavourless for my liking. I will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGIBEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River John, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States