Maharaja Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Never knew how to make curry, and I didn't realize how easy it actually was. I threw mine together using a 15oz can of diced tomatoes and used 3 cloves of garlic instead of one. I too, like another reviewer, am a garlicaholic. I actually had a blender handy and pureed it real quick, and it turned out great! I threw it on top of some whole grain rice and it made a great meal. Also, when it says simmer gently, I’d recommend placing a lid partway over it. The sauce is thick making the bubbles bigger causing it to splatter a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Very tasty! I prepared with lamb cubes, and did it in a slow cooker on low for 8 hours. Was delicious! I upped the cayenne and garam masala a little. Next time will try on the stove, but I was worried about overdoing the lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
my whole family loved it. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colombo, Western, Sri Lanka
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Very easy to make. I will use less cayenne next time. It is spicey. I used coconut juice instead of water. Very yummy! I serve mine over broccoli or spinach with paneer cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I like the spiciness of this recipe and its authenticity. Instead of using fresh tomatoes, I used two cans of diced tomatoes (no salt added) and skipped the pureeing. Made it much simpler, and I preferred the consistency. I also appreciate that this is a low-fat meal. Not having to brown the chicken is a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Not that great... I live in London mind you and am used to awesome curries. It was too spicy and rather flavourless for my liking. I will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGIBEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River John, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Was craving something South Asian, but easy, which I think is hard to find. This was perfect and simple to make. I didn't use a blender cause I'm lazy, and as long as you don't mind chunky it was still good. Only problem was it wasn't spicy enough for me. I'll probably change that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Very good. My husband sad it was the best curry I have made. He did request that I use a bit more tomato next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Very, very good!! I also chose not to blend the ingredients. Think I like it better as I can not envision blending making the dish better. Used a large can on diced tomatoes instead of fresh. Served over brown rice. Also served chickpea curry (found on this site) as a side. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Excellent with basmati rice and naan bread! I used a 28oz can of whole peeled tomatoes. Tossed them in the blender with the onion mixture and added some of the juice from the can to help thin it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wales, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States