Magpie's Easy Falafel Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This was my first falafel experience.I used egg instead of sour cream,and had no problems with them coming apart.I also added sesame seeds to the cornmeal to coat.Really yummy,thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Orange City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I made this as part of a birthday dinner for my vegetarian son. I had never made or ate falafel before but judging from the responses I got from my son & his friends who eat them regularly, I guess they turned out pretty good. I used greek yogurt instead of imitation sourcream (my son's not vegan) and also added in an egg to help hold them together better. I needed to double the recipe but only had one can of garbanzo beans so I used a can of great northern beans as a substitute for the 2nd can and that worked ok. I found I needed to added way more cornmeal than the recipe called for in order to form the batter into formable cakes. I'd definitely make them again for my son. He really liked them and I am always looking for a vegetartian dish to make for him and this worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This was pretty good. We put them in wheat pita pockets with a dollop of sour cream and dipped them in a little honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
The flavor was great, but I had a little trouble getting the cakes to stay together. Regardless, they were a hit with both my husband and my two year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I ran out of cornmeal, so didn't coat the burgers. They cooked up just fine! Great taste! We'll be making these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Awesome! Easy and tastes so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I like the fact that this recipe uses no flour or bread crumbs, so it's gluten-free. It was not the best falafel I ever had. My husband and I liked it ok, but my kids did not. I may try tweeking it a little before searching for another recipe. Egg would definitely help hold it together, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
These were amazing! Very simple, and very delicious! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KylieJoy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
These were awesome! I couldn't believe how easy falafel was to make! I made a green chutney to dip these in and we loved them! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuesday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Leelanau, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Ime loving it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States