Magical Mint Kiss Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
Gotta love the surprise minty kiss in the middle! This is going to be a big hit at my office party this year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
Even after reading the reviews, I decided to try this. My husband loves these mint kisses! I had to add milk to make the batter workable, but even so, the flavor of the dough was horrible, as was the texture. The best part was the melted mint kiss. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
I made the batch half mint and half regular. personally, I thought that the regular ones tasted better. As far as the complaints about the batter being too dry, If you just hold it in your hand for a few second and press it together, the butter melts and it is easy to wrap the kisses. I also preferred to leave the powdered sugar off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Parkesburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
My grandaughter and I made these cookies last week and they were not a big hit. They didn't have much taste and the chocolate cookie part was rather dry and crumbly. We won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I don't think I will keep this one around, I did not like this cookie at all. My husband did though so I guess it takes a certain kind of taste. It was very floury (I even reduced the flour to 1 3/4 cup per other review suggestion)and minty. I knew it was going to have a mint flavor, and I like mint flavor, but this was extreme!!! I already threw the recipe away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Claus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fortville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I don't think I will ever make this again. I was so excited to make these - they sounded so wonderful. The dough was so dry (I used 1 1/2 cups flour) that I couldn't get it to stick to the kisses. If you make this add some more liquid - don't just lessen the flour. Add an egg or milk or something cause you're going to need the moisture. Difficult and frustrating to work with and not that fabulous tasting because of the cookies being so dry. I'm still disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I did not like these at all. I tried to use all of the flour and it started to get too dry, so I went ahead and made them. It took a lot longer for them to cook, and then they tasted awful. The only sweet part was the kiss- which is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
We could not find the mint Kisses, so we substituited almond Kisses and added mint extract to the cookie dough. They turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Lee Patterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
DELICIOUS!!!!!!! I used 1 2/3c - 1 3/4c flour since other comments said to use less. I did some without the powder sugar & great also. Had to put in the freezer so we didn't eat them all right away. May try just the cookie part (without mints) for chocolate cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
We found these cookies to be pretty dry (as with previous reviewers, I would suggest lessening the amount of flour) and the mint flavor was really overwhelming. If you are a big mint lover, you will probably like them, however. I may make them again at Christmas and try regular kisses, as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States