Magical Mint Kiss Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
These were good, but real dry except for the mint kiss inside. Probably won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
My kids rave over these chocolate gems and the minty center is to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
Unlike other reviews, my batter seemed to be too wet. (I live in Florida, made the cookies on a rainy day - lots of moisture in the air.) They didn't stay in balls but spread out. End result: the cookies were still dry and crumbly. Everyone loved them because of the kiss - next time I'll make a good chocolate cookie and put the kiss on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
I think these cookies taste fantastic, especially when hot (but not right out of the oven - the melty kiss will BURN your tongue!) These cookies were a big hit, with or without powdered sugar (some liked it without.) I accidentally melted my butter beforehand, and mine turned out great - the cookies looked somewhat like chocolate truffles, and didn't expand very much, but had some great semi-crunchy parts. However, I have a big complaint about how long it takes to make these cookies - it took me a ridiculous amount of time, because I was trying to cover each kiss completely, and the dough would get very crumbly and dry. I really recommend this recipe, but only if you have an ample amount of time to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Flavor was great, but lacked character of presentation, so I drizzled melted white chocolate over them in a zig-zag pattern.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
These are delicious!!! Loved by everyone. I followed this recipe exactly as it was written and had no problems at all!! The cookies were easy to make and baked quickly. When it came to the powdered sugar, I dumped a bit into a Ziploc bag and rolled about five cookies around at a time. Saves on mess and time. These cookies were taken to the office and were gone in no time at all. Also, the recipe was requested by many of my co-workers. I will make these cookies again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
This recipe is quick and easy. I made it for my cookie exchange this year, and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
my father and husband did not like them at all. my mother thought it was too much work for the result achieved and i had to agree
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fitchburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Brodhead, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This is a great recipe if you do a couple of things. Use cake and pastry flour instead of all purpose it tends to be a little more moist. Add an extra tsp of Vanilla. Also I couldn't find Mint Kisses so I used Hugs instead, I would of liked a little more of a minty taste but these were a great replacment. Everyone loved the results. This will be a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I made two batches of these and thought they turned out really well and tasted great. One batch I tried reducing the flour to 1 3/4 cup and they didn't hold their "ball" shape. So I personally can't recommend reducing the flour. I think it depends on how you measure your flour (I spoon the flour into the measuring cup rather than scooping it out of the container). I wouldn't recommend using milk or egg, this will alter the chemistry of the recipe. Make sure your butter is VERY soft before you start and use a smaller amount of dough to cover each kiss. Don't overcrowd the cookie sheet, they won't rise but they will spread just a little bit. I think these will go over well at my cookie exchange!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States