Magical Mint Kiss Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
DELICIOUS!!!!!!! I used 1 2/3c - 1 3/4c flour since other comments said to use less. I did some without the powder sugar & great also. Had to put in the freezer so we didn't eat them all right away. May try just the cookie part (without mints) for chocolate cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
These cookies are so good and so easy to make. They taste like the Girl Scout's Thin Mints. (if you don't like mint try plain kisses, they are still yummy) I used as little dough as possible to cover the kisses and got at least 6 dozen cookies out of the recipe. My only complaint was the amount of flour made them a little bit dry so I'll probably reduce the amount next time, but even that didn't affect the taste. I’ll definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
Gotta love the surprise minty kiss in the middle! This is going to be a big hit at my office party this year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I made two batches of these and thought they turned out really well and tasted great. One batch I tried reducing the flour to 1 3/4 cup and they didn't hold their "ball" shape. So I personally can't recommend reducing the flour. I think it depends on how you measure your flour (I spoon the flour into the measuring cup rather than scooping it out of the container). I wouldn't recommend using milk or egg, this will alter the chemistry of the recipe. Make sure your butter is VERY soft before you start and use a smaller amount of dough to cover each kiss. Don't overcrowd the cookie sheet, they won't rise but they will spread just a little bit. I think these will go over well at my cookie exchange!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This is a great recipe if you do a couple of things. Use cake and pastry flour instead of all purpose it tends to be a little more moist. Add an extra tsp of Vanilla. Also I couldn't find Mint Kisses so I used Hugs instead, I would of liked a little more of a minty taste but these were a great replacment. Everyone loved the results. This will be a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
This recipe is quick and easy. I made it for my cookie exchange this year, and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
These are delicious!!! Loved by everyone. I followed this recipe exactly as it was written and had no problems at all!! The cookies were easy to make and baked quickly. When it came to the powdered sugar, I dumped a bit into a Ziploc bag and rolled about five cookies around at a time. Saves on mess and time. These cookies were taken to the office and were gone in no time at all. Also, the recipe was requested by many of my co-workers. I will make these cookies again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
My kids rave over these chocolate gems and the minty center is to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
These are marvelous - pretty much chocolate shortbread with a chocolate surprise inside! I agree with the other reviewer who suggested that the butter be VERY soft - I accidently over-microwaved the butter so it was practically liquid, but in doing so the dough was extremely pliable, no dryness problem here! I decided to forgo the powdered sugar, and instead drizzled coloured icing over them. I liked these so much I am making them with mint (with green icing), hugs (white icing), and almond kisses (red icing). :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moxie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
I made these cookies for a Christmas party. Most people thought they were awesome. They were a hit. The dough was sticky when I first tried to handle it. I refrigerated it until it was chilled and the dough was much more pliable and easy to handle. If the dough is chilled, the cookies probably will not spread as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States