Magic Peanut Butter Middles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
Please don't be discouraged by reviews that say this is a difficult dish; it is not. It does take some time to assemble, but I found it easy thanks to the cooks who recommended preparing the filling first and freezing the balls. I added three heaping tablespoons of mayonnaise and three heaping tablespoons of extra cocoa to the cookie mixture which made for a very moist, chocolaty, almost brownie-like cookie. This dough is very easy to work with and is very easy to mold into a long tube that I cut into 30 even pieces. Flatten a piece a bit with your palm, take a ball out of the freezer (I kept the balls in the freezer while working on the counter next to the freezer, taking out one ball at a time while assembling), and plop the ball in the middle of the cookie dough slab, then simply mold the chocolate around the ball. Very simple and assembly took maybe twenty minutes. Take them out of the oven at 8-9 minutes for a soft, moist brownie texture. Finished product is delicious and dangerously addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
The 5-star reviews for this recipe are a little misleading, if you ask me, since many of them were given after altering the original recipe. I followed the recipe exactly as given. These cookies are pretty bad, but not totally inedible. The chocolate dough gets extremely dry and crackly, which some have remedied with sour cream and an extra egg. I will re-try this recipe with the changes suggested because I'm making it for an event, and because it's made with ingredients I prefer not to feed my family (refined sugar and flour), I am not excited to feed these to my toddler, even though he wouldn't mind their taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa Mario Rumble

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New York, USA
Living In: Canandaigua, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Awesome. Think of a reece's peanut butter cup with flour. This recipe is a little high effort, but our 6 year old helped with the balls and flattening. It isn't hard, just time consuming. But with the reviews other people gave me and the fight that nearly broke out over the last two, very worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skatmatth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I love these, the only drawback is they suck the moisture right out of your mouth. A tall glass of cod milk is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hansberryd
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I followed some suggestions from other reviewers, which made assembly very easy. I cut down the white and brown sugar in the cookie dough to 1/3c each. I also added two TBSP sour cream into the wet ingredients so the dough wouldn't be too dry. I used natural peanut butter because I don't like the kinds with the added sugar and emulsifiers. I transferred the cookie dough into a container and put it in the fridge while I made the peanut butter centers. Cool dough is easier to handle and more elastic. I put the finished peanut butter centers in the freezer for 5-10 minutes. I formed 30 cookie dough balls so I wouldn't have any leftovers. To assemble, I put a ball into my palm and flatted it with my other palm. I put the peanut butter center inside the flattened circle, then wrapped the edges of the dough circle around the peanut butter ball. I then rolled the ball inside my hands to smooth it out. I posted pictures. Assembly was easy and not too time-consuming. The cookies don't spread when you bake them so you can jam a bunch onto one cookie sheet. However much you flatten them before you put them in the oven is how flat they'll be when you pull them out, so be sure you like how they look before you put them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenview, Illinois, USA
Living In: Decorah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
These cookies are great! I followed the advice of another reviewer and added a little milk to the dough to make it a little less dry. One thing I've found is you really have to follow the directions for cooking time. You will be tempted to over cook them (I did) because when you take them out of the oven they will be a little loose. But don't cook them longer! I ended up with stiff, dry cookies because I thought they weren't done and cooked them more. Once I figured it out, the cookies were wonderful! Extra fabulous if you use the Special Dark cocoa, but maybe that's just me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Silver Burnett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Photo by Yoly
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Made these cookies with Hershey's Special Dark Cacao Powder because that's what I had on hand. After reading reviews, I added 2 tbs sour cream. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly as written and ended up with 30 cookies. Had no trouble rolling the filling or the cookie dough. Flattened the dough, placed filling in center, covered filling with dough and rerolled the cookies. A bit time consuming but convenient since I had all the ingredients in my pantry. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Downey, California, USA
Photo by Sandra
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
These are absolutely amazing! They're a little tedious and take about an hour from the time you pull out your ingredients, to the time you're pulling them out of the oven. The preparation though is organized and leads to a great end result. I did as many suggested by making the interior first and letting those peanut butter balls freeze while the exterior was being made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
These are really really good. We all loved them. I followed the recipe as written. They're a bit of work, but worth it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Excellent... chewy, great flavor! Followed the recipe exactly other than I chilled the dough for manageability. Will add to my favorites list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Davidson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 585) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States