Magic Peanut Butter Middles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
These cookies are great! I followed the advice of another reviewer and added a little milk to the dough to make it a little less dry. One thing I've found is you really have to follow the directions for cooking time. You will be tempted to over cook them (I did) because when you take them out of the oven they will be a little loose. But don't cook them longer! I ended up with stiff, dry cookies because I thought they weren't done and cooked them more. Once I figured it out, the cookies were wonderful! Extra fabulous if you use the Special Dark cocoa, but maybe that's just me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanmachine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yoly
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Made these cookies with Hershey's Special Dark Cacao Powder because that's what I had on hand. After reading reviews, I added 2 tbs sour cream. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly as written and ended up with 30 cookies. Had no trouble rolling the filling or the cookie dough. Flattened the dough, placed filling in center, covered filling with dough and rerolled the cookies. A bit time consuming but convenient since I had all the ingredients in my pantry. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
These are absolutely amazing! They're a little tedious and take about an hour from the time you pull out your ingredients, to the time you're pulling them out of the oven. The preparation though is organized and leads to a great end result. I did as many suggested by making the interior first and letting those peanut butter balls freeze while the exterior was being made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
These are really really good. We all loved them. I followed the recipe as written. They're a bit of work, but worth it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Excellent... chewy, great flavor! Followed the recipe exactly other than I chilled the dough for manageability. Will add to my favorites list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Davidson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Loved it... After reading the first review I also added 1 Tbsp. of milk to wet mixture, also seemed to be easier to work with when the dough is chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
These get a 4 for taste (would prefer a softer cookie) but a zero for ease of assembly! Many of my cookies had the top pull off with the glass (yes, I used sugar), exposing the peanut butter middle. My third tray I rolled the cookies in sugar and then used a glass...much better The chocolate part is messy, the peanut butter part crumbly but eventually comes together when worked by hand. Overall, not worth the effort. I won't make these again, but will use a similar recipe with peanut butter on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Made this as is and they are delicious when they are still warm but when they get cold, they get hard. Definitely need milk while eating these too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Love, love, love these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
my fav cookies for the holiday
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 580) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States