Magic Peanut Butter Middles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
These are wonderful cookies - especially for those of us that love peanut butter and chocolate! The recipe may sound a little labor intensive but it is not. As suggested by other reviewers, it is best to chill the peanut butter balls. I flatten the chocolate batter in the palm of my hand and put a "dimple" in the middle, place the chilled peanut butter ball there and then fold the chocolate batter up and around it. Mine end up being about golf ball size. I flatten slightly with the decorative bottom of a glass dipped in sugar. That makes a pretty, gift type cookie. Do not over bake or they will be dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
These turned out awesome. I baked these for my BF and his daughter to take on their trip. I got a text...These cookies are freaking amazing. I used a couple of the tips. Definitely add the sour cream, I added a splash of milk too. Chill the peanut butter filling. I probably will chill longer next time. Flatten in hand, then fold around and seal, placing seal side down. Next to figure out how to do these like a peppermint pattie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
It took me 2 hours to make these from start to finish (including toddler interruptions) and they came out dry and the bottoms hard after only 7 minutes baking time. Also even added milk like another user suggested for the dryness issue. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Excellent cookie. My alteration is to the rolling of the balls. Instead...I roll into a log. Slice the roll, layer dark--peanut butter--dark and flatten. Much quicker !!! Top with a little coarse sugar. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Loved these cookies! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caledonia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Good!! Will make them again....just takes time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Recipe was very easy to make. I did take the suggestions to add an additional egg, 2 T of mayo and 1/3 cup of semisweet chips to the dough. I used Penzey's Spices cocoa powder. I made the filling first and used my cookie scooper to make about 17 heaping peanut butter balls and then put in freezer. I cut the balls in half after they firmed. Since I used up my peanut butter I used a Dark Chocolate peanut butter for the dough. I took my cookie scooper for the dough as well and slightly indented the ball in my palm and put filling inside and folded dough around. It was very easy and I had enough dough to make 40 cookies without any peanut butter leaking from cookie. I did have to use 8 Hershey kisses for 8 of the extra cookies because I ran out of filling. Very yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking momma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I followed another reviewers directions and made the following changes: I added 1/8 tsp salt to the peanut butter/powdered sugar part and rolled into 30 balls and froze on cookie sheets lined with parchment paper. Then for the cookie part, I used 2 eggs, added a dash of salt to the dry portion, and after mixing wet ingredients & dry ingredients together, I added 1/2 c. mini semi sweet chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Tried it and same results as others. but they are worth the bit of work. definitely have to put the peanut butter middles in the fridge for a bit. that really helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Overall, these cookies have good flavor. The cookie dough wasn't easy to form around the peanut butter filling balls. And I ended up having too much peanut butter filling considering how crumbly the chocolate-peanut butter dough was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Witte Grubbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 563) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States