Magic Mango Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This was a tasty disaster. Full disclosure: i didn't have enough mangos and had to add a banana.Other thing I did different was to use coconut oil instead of regular oil. Also added a little bit of baking powder. Anyway, end result was tasty but crumbly and stuck to the bottom of the pan. It was good, but not great, and since it was a mess I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Great recipe. I don't eat mango but I made it for my husband who does and to my surprise I loved it. My friends came over and asked for the recipe after eating some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
So moist and delicious!! My mom made this for us but she only used 1 cup of sugar, and it was the perfect amount of sweet. Of course the Mango we used came from our back yard and were tree ripened sweet (it makes a big difference). We are making this a regular mango season recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Really good recipe! I made only one loaf and used 1/2 cup brown sugar instead of 3/4 cup white sugar. Two eggs as well, plus some ginger because I like it. My husband can't eat nuts and my daughter won't eat raisins, so I threw in some Craisins to good effect. My mango pieces stayed mixed throughout, perhaps because they were small. I will make this again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Delish! Smelled wonderful cooking, too. I chopped the mango into very small pieces and I like the texture that produced. Used shaved coconut, macadamia nuts in place of walnuts, and craisins in place of raisins. Next time (there will be a next time!) I'll sub in applesauce for half the fats, as the texture is greasy to the touch; maybe I'll use coconut oil for the fat, to keep the tropical flavors going. I would also use a bit less sugar, as it's quite sweet. Still, a good recipe as-is, and a great way to use up some mangoes when I've bought them in bulk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This is delicious, but stuck to the bottom of the pan. I used light colored non stick bread pans, lightly greased (per the directions) with Crisco. Has anyone else had this problem? I was able to loosen the sides with a plastic knife, but the bottom stuck on both loaves. It was definitely done, the toothpick was clean, and any longer would have burnt the tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
The bread was delicious!!!. I did make some changes in the recipe used 1cup whole wheat flour and 1 cup all purpose flour and used baking powder instead of baking soda (didnt have any). I used very ripe mangoes and the result was awesome. I also used yogurt instead of butter which made it a healthier option. It made two full loaves and 6 muffins too. Will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dehradun, Uttaranchal, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Delicious!!! I baked it and served it at the lodge I work at...the guests loved it! Very good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Easy and delicious! My whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Great! Neighbors loved it... co workers love it.. It was good! thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vidalia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States