Magic Mango Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
So very moist and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
extremely moist. will not let the mango ripen so much next time i fix it as the flavor is somewhat lessened
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mountain View, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This tasted great though I did make some changes. The mango flavour wasn't pronounced. It is very moist and dense, definitely quite filling. It's a little different from traditional quick breads as this had a sort of bread pudding texture. Many reviewers mentioned having issues with the loaves rising; what I can say is that I used one teaspoon each baking soda, baking powder and lemon juice to try and avoid the problem. It really doesn't rise all that much, but that's fine with us. I used a teaspoon each of cinnamon and ginger. I decided to use applesauce and coconut oil to reduce fat and keep the 'tropical' theme going. Cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup, and used brown sugar instead. I only had 1 1/4 cups of mango, so I used some cantaloupe and leftover fruit cocktail to make up the difference. I mashed the fruits, left them a little chunky and strained as much of the excess juices that I could squeeze out. Omitted the walnuts. As mentioned it was indeed very moist, but oh-so-flavourful! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This is the ULTIMATE sweet bread! I will make it all the time too! My hubby LOVES it! Thanks for the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
My bread didn't rise but it tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This was OK but the mango favor did not really come through liked I had hoped. It reminded me a spice cake. I may try this again with a few modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I made this as written however I mashed the mangos with a fork and baked them at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes. Super moist, very delicious, very much like a buttery, slightly fruity cinnamon taste. I know other reviewers though they did not rise enough, but I thought the texture was exactly as a quick bread should be, moist and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Moist and incredibly tasty. Took a loaf to my mother-in-law's for a get-together. She bakes loaves all the time. Well, we had my loaf and her zucchini loaf out and people kept coming back to mine! I had no leftovers where she still had about 3/4 of hers. Definitely a keeper! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Wow, this is one great quick bread! I followed the recipe exactly as I wanted a sweet bread. The only exceptions I made was using whole wheat flour. I did puree most of the mangos and chopped the rest into small bits. I also sprinkled walnuts and coconut on the top, pressing it into the batter before baking. I also added one teaspoon of fresh lemon juice as one reviewer had recommended to make it rise properly. I can see how frozen mangoes will work just as well and will continue to make this once mango season is over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
this was the best mango bread our family has ever had. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States