Magic Mango Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
So very moist and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
extremely moist. will not let the mango ripen so much next time i fix it as the flavor is somewhat lessened
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mountain View, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This tasted great though I did make some changes. The mango flavour wasn't pronounced. It is very moist and dense, definitely quite filling. It's a little different from traditional quick breads as this had a sort of bread pudding texture. Many reviewers mentioned having issues with the loaves rising; what I can say is that I used one teaspoon each baking soda, baking powder and lemon juice to try and avoid the problem. It really doesn't rise all that much, but that's fine with us. I used a teaspoon each of cinnamon and ginger. I decided to use applesauce and coconut oil to reduce fat and keep the 'tropical' theme going. Cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup, and used brown sugar instead. I only had 1 1/4 cups of mango, so I used some cantaloupe and leftover fruit cocktail to make up the difference. I mashed the fruits, left them a little chunky and strained as much of the excess juices that I could squeeze out. Omitted the walnuts. As mentioned it was indeed very moist, but oh-so-flavourful! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This is the ULTIMATE sweet bread! I will make it all the time too! My hubby LOVES it! Thanks for the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
My bread didn't rise but it tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This was OK but the mango favor did not really come through liked I had hoped. It reminded me a spice cake. I may try this again with a few modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I made this as written however I mashed the mangos with a fork and baked them at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes. Super moist, very delicious, very much like a buttery, slightly fruity cinnamon taste. I know other reviewers though they did not rise enough, but I thought the texture was exactly as a quick bread should be, moist and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Moist and incredibly tasty. Took a loaf to my mother-in-law's for a get-together. She bakes loaves all the time. Well, we had my loaf and her zucchini loaf out and people kept coming back to mine! I had no leftovers where she still had about 3/4 of hers. Definitely a keeper! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Wow, this is one great quick bread! I followed the recipe exactly as I wanted a sweet bread. The only exceptions I made was using whole wheat flour. I did puree most of the mangos and chopped the rest into small bits. I also sprinkled walnuts and coconut on the top, pressing it into the batter before baking. I also added one teaspoon of fresh lemon juice as one reviewer had recommended to make it rise properly. I can see how frozen mangoes will work just as well and will continue to make this once mango season is over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
this was the best mango bread our family has ever had. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States