Magic Mango Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
So amazing! I cut the recipe in half because I only had one bread pan, but then I accidentally put in double the amount of vanilla extract I needed. No matter-this was amazing all the same! So moist and the mango tastes soooo good. This was a hit when I brought a couple pieces to work. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
OK, so the other reviews are so good, I think maybe I did something horribly wrong. This was not bread, but mango ooze. Although I did not put in raisins or nuts (not fam faves), and I did add a teaspoon each of coconut and rum extracts, I don't think the added 2 teaspoons of extract accounts for the mess. I was originally concerned that with 3 cups of mango and only 2 cups of flour it might be a little gooey, but gooey doesn't come close to what this was like. I cooked it for 1 hour 20 minutes when I finally had to take it out because I had to leave the house. The taste is great, but it didn't turn out like bread of any kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I substituted dried cherries for the raisins, since I dislike raisins. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Hmmm. I think I'll try this again, pureeing the mango as others have said. It was good and I didn't have trouble with it rising, as others noted. I wonder if the rising issues have something to do with how acid the particular mangoes you use are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I gave it to some folks who weren't crazy about bread or sweets and they loved it! Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I added 1 teaspoon of baking soda, 1 teaspoon of lemon juice, and pureed half of the mango as others had suggested. I also used only 2 tablespoons of butter and the rest coconut oil (no vegetable oil). I baked them in muffin tins. Wonderful!!! Thanks for posting this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Mixed all ingredients exactly as written in recipe; baked in buttered bundt pan. Came out perfectly. Delicious, moist. Brought it into work and it was devoured to high praise. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
So, I did what one of the reviewers said and increased the baking soda to 3 tsp. and added 1 tsp. of baking powder. I pureed the mango, but it ended up being a very soupy batter. I used two mangos, which, chopped made 2 cups, but pureed made 1 1/2 so I added pureed pineapple. I think if you do puree, you need to go by the chopped measurement instead of modifying it like I did. I also cooked it at 325 like one of the comments said for 1 hour and 10 min. They were browned on the outside but "jiggly". I took them out anyway hoping they would firm up as they sat. They rose in the oven then fell about 40 min. into baking time. I think if I make this again I would increase the flour to at least 2 1/2 cups and use 2 cups pureed fruit rather than 3. My house smells wonderful though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Fabulous!!! One of the yummiest breads ever. Stays moist and fresh for days! Highly Recommend this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
So very moist and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States