Magic Mango Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I used half whole wheat and white whole wheat flour, reduced both the butter and oil to 1/4 cups and added applesauce and yogurt instead. I didn't have raisins or nuts to add. For a healthier version of this recipe, it turned out very good. Nice change from banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
So good! I needed recipes because my husband bought a case of mangoes...this bread was so delicious that he ate the second loaf all by himself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
This mango bread turned out great. I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil, and omitted the rasins. My mango was mashed. The bread had a good flavor and was moist. The walnuts and shredded coconut made the texture better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I made this mango bread for the first time during mango season last summer (2011). I took one to work and everyone raved about it for weeks. I just made it again, hoping it will be as delicious as last time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I love mangoes and I loved this bread even more. Incredibly moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I made this bread omitting the raisins & walnuts and substituting the white sugar for raw sugar and it turned out perfect & delicious! I made enough to share with our neighbors and they all loved it! We live in Costa Rica and it is raining mangoes! The mango trees are filled with hundreds of ripe mangoes all over. I felt like I needed to come up with a way to use them. This was the perfect solution. I will definitely make this again...I plan to make muffins next time using this same recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deebee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
This was very easy to make. It was a cross taste between a Banana Bread and Zuchini Bread. Very good. I give you 5*'s. Thank you for sharing your recipe with the public.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This bread tastes pretty good although not as "tropical" as I expected. I found the Mangos to be a pain to cut up but that is just me. very moist, would probably do it as more of a coffee cake in a 8x8 next time maybe with some kind for icing.... bread bakes up darker than I expected so I thought it was done, toothpick came out clean, took it out and realised it wasn't done and had to put it back in. would make again if a few mangos fell into my lap like they did this week but wouldn't go out buying mangos to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I omitted the vegetable oil, raisins, walnuts, and coconut. I didn't have the vegetable oil on hand and was not keen substituting for something else i.e. canola oil. It was cooked for a little over 40 minutes. It was brown on the top and toothpick test came clean. The result : smooth, moist, and yummy mango bread. One caveat, we couldn't taste the mango. So I might experiment by either (1) subsitute vanilla extract with a mango extract if there is such a thing (2) put more mangoes. But overall great recipe to work with and serves its purpose. Will definitely bake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Very tasty! The bread falls apart easily, and while I"m told that happens to the majority of fruit breads, I've also been told (have yet to try) that greek yogurt should thicken it up just enough to hold together better! Will be trying this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States