Magic Mango Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This recipe was amazing in every way. It was moist, the mango was chewy, and it cools down quickly. Very good w/o the raisins or walnuts and some extra coconut. I also used sweetened shredded coconut (instead of just regular coconut) and flax (instead of eggs). Definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama and Daughters

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Just tasted like a sweet bread. didn't really taste the mango. Used fresh mangos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Photo by sbelgie
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I made this with smaller mango pieces so that they were even in the bread. Same thing, not too much mango flavour but I love the texture with walnuts, raisin & coconut! I also used powdered sugar since I didn't have enough granulated sugar which made it easier to mix with the batter. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Just made it and I think all homemade bread is better after set up in the fridge. Only thing I did different was add 1 1/2 tap baking powder since previous comments said it didn't rise. But the BP made it almost like a cake and it's supposed to be bread so I should have just followed the recipe as followed. It's still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I am yet another person, who used this recipe as a basis. Here are some modifications I did. I put in ginger, no cinnamon. - I made a crumble on top of coconut, sugar, flour and butter with cinnamon. - I omitted the coconut from the bread itself and opted to put on top. - no raisin or cranberries, although I considered it! - I had an overripe banana that I through into the mix - added 1/3 c. buttermilk (for moistness) - omitted the oil - added mandarin zest, and the rest of the mandarin orange beated into the mix - beat the sugar and butter until it was fluffy So finally, it's a totally different recipe all together, and perhaps I should post it as such... vibrant and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
It took three hours in the oven and I had to add icing to make it taste good I mean it was OK but there's defiantly better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Absolutely LOVE this recipe!!!! I used to make zucchini bread until I found this recipe. Everyone that tastes it, falls in love :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I made this with a few flavor modifications to suit our tastes. I pureed the mango, swapped macadamia nuts for the walnuts, and omitted the raisins and coconut. This bread tastes awesome, especially warm right from the oven, but I had a major issue with it rising. The middle sank terribly and was underdone, while the edges were perfectly done. I ended up throwing it back in the oven for a little while longer but I think the recipe needs a tweak to make it rise evenly. Then it would be a 5 star!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
use less mango but was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladylee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
first time I made it...UNBELEIVABLE! next time I made it, it sunk in the middle...what did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kula, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States