Magic Mango Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Just made it and I think all homemade bread is better after set up in the fridge. Only thing I did different was add 1 1/2 tap baking powder since previous comments said it didn't rise. But the BP made it almost like a cake and it's supposed to be bread so I should have just followed the recipe as followed. It's still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I am yet another person, who used this recipe as a basis. Here are some modifications I did. I put in ginger, no cinnamon. - I made a crumble on top of coconut, sugar, flour and butter with cinnamon. - I omitted the coconut from the bread itself and opted to put on top. - no raisin or cranberries, although I considered it! - I had an overripe banana that I through into the mix - added 1/3 c. buttermilk (for moistness) - omitted the oil - added mandarin zest, and the rest of the mandarin orange beated into the mix - beat the sugar and butter until it was fluffy So finally, it's a totally different recipe all together, and perhaps I should post it as such... vibrant and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
It took three hours in the oven and I had to add icing to make it taste good I mean it was OK but there's defiantly better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Absolutely LOVE this recipe!!!! I used to make zucchini bread until I found this recipe. Everyone that tastes it, falls in love :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I made this with a few flavor modifications to suit our tastes. I pureed the mango, swapped macadamia nuts for the walnuts, and omitted the raisins and coconut. This bread tastes awesome, especially warm right from the oven, but I had a major issue with it rising. The middle sank terribly and was underdone, while the edges were perfectly done. I ended up throwing it back in the oven for a little while longer but I think the recipe needs a tweak to make it rise evenly. Then it would be a 5 star!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
use less mango but was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladylee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
first time I made it...UNBELEIVABLE! next time I made it, it sunk in the middle...what did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kula, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I prefer using the food processor with the mango but had great success! I didn't change anything else and it turned out great. 6 out of 6 other guinea pigs loved it too. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Excellent and sweet. I split it 50/50 mango and crushed pineapple. The bread was a little too moist and not as cohesive as it would have been without the pineapple but the flavor was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I am not a good baker! But, I really wanted to try this bread. I am not crazy about artificial sweeteners, and wanted to make it healthier, so I made the following changes: I used 1 cup all purpose and 1 cup unbleached flour 3 tsp baking soda (after reading other comments) 1/2 teaspoon salt 1 teaspoon cinnamon because I really want to taste the mango. 5 medium mangos - about 3 1/2 - 4 cups. (1 ½ cups of it I pureed) I did NOT use store bought, I used my mother in law's which have no fiber and taste like candy! Unfortunately I do not know the "type". butter -a quarter of a cup (1/2 of a stick) canola oil - a quarter of a cup ¾ cup of organic whole cane sugar, and it was still a little too sweet 3eggs 1 teaspoon vanilla extract 1 tsp lemon – (another reader suggested this for rising but I forgot to add it and my bread did not rise) 1/2 cup raisins – I omitted these (again in hopes of increasing the mango flavor) I used 1 cup walnuts(love walnuts) ¾ cup of desiccated unsweetened coconut The rest is pretty much the same, except that due to laziness I used my Vitamix to blend the dry ingredients, then separately the wet ingredients, then combined the 2 in a bowl. I also had to lessen the cooking time to 35 min. Probably because I have a convection oven? Maybe due to the ingredient change?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States