Magic Mango Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
First time using the original recipe was very good. Second time I modified somewhat to fit my families tastes. Using 2.5 cups flour, adding 3tsp baking soda, 1tsp baking powder 1sm pkg vanilla pudding 1tsp ginger .5tsp nutmeg 1tsp cinnamon .5tsp salt. The wet mix .5cup butter .5cup sour cream 3eggs 1Tb oil 1tsp lemon juice and 1cup brown sugar I did use the 3 cups mango however I course ground them . The reason I cut back the sugar, the mango are extremely sweet from our trees ...you may have to adjust depending on the fruit. I baked in a bundt pan on convection set at 325 for 1hour or until toothpick is clean. I drizzed a cream cheese glaze on top after cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
This bread is wonderful. I followed the recipe as written with 2 exceptions. I used coconut oil in place of vegetable oil and after greasing my pans I sprinkled them with cinnamon sugar. I only tasted bits of the bread myself since I have to follow a gluten-free diet, but I got rave reviews from all who tasted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
This bread is delicious. I also made a few changes as suggested by other posters. I used 1/2 cup Earth Balance in place of butter and 1/2 cup sour cream for the oil and added 1 tsp. lemon juice. I only used 1/3 cup white sugar and added a couple squeezes (I didn't measure) of good local honey. The coconut I used was sweetened, and I do not have much of a sweet tooth. For me, a little sugar goes a long way. I used 1 tsp. of baking soda; 1 tsp. of baking powder. The mangoes were from my neighbor's tree! Not sure the variety, but they did turn out a little stringy, even though I pureed them. Oh, I also added 1/2 a banana to the mango puree, used golden raisins, and macadamias in place of walnuts. Other than the little bit of stringiness, this bread is spot on. Moist, and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
This recipe is very similar to one that has been passed on in my family from Hawaii except it called for less eggs. I subsituted 1 C oat flour and 1 C whole wheat, coconut oil, and 3/4 C coconut sugar to make it a little healthier. Turned out very moist and just the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
I used a reconstituted package of dried mangoes from Kroger. I used only 1 cup of sugar and baked in a 9x9 square pan. Straight out of the oven it is a little dry. This moistens/tastes better after it has sat in an airtight container for at least a day. I may try adding in banana next time for some extra flavor/moistness, also maybe more cinnamon and some nutmeg. I couldn't taste the coconut, so maybe creating a coconut frosting would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marie Miller
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Good recipe, great way to use ripe mangos. Looked at a few mango bread recipes, liked this one with the coconut. I didn't have raisins, didn't have walnuts, so added chopped pecans instead. substituted nonfat plain Greek yogurt for the butter. My house smelled fabulous. The bread is delicious, tasted it warm. The only thing that is a bit strange is that the bread is a good texture, but the mango pieces are soft....but still delicious. I think I would chop the fruit smaller or run in the blender next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NatNat
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Followed the whole recipe but only used mangos in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NatNat

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
excellent-simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Great recipe! I used 3 teaspoons of baking soda, overripe mangoes and pulp that didn't require processing, and a four-loaf pan. I also added cardamom to the dry ingredients. I didn't have a problem with the rise or texture and the loaves were moist and delicious. They were even better the second day. I'll definitely make these again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
I wasn't to sure of this at first and I didn't read the reviews until after it was mixed and waiting to go in the oven so the only change was dropping it to 325 degrees for 50 min and I left out the raisins and walnuts. It was EXCELLENT. I took one loaf to the pottery studio and it was gone in 2 hrs and had people asking for the recipe. Thank you SACKPAC for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Roper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States