Magic Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This lemon version of Key Lime Pie was creamy and delicious! I made my own crust using 1-1/4 c. graham cracker crumbs, 2 T. sugar and 5 T. melted butter, which I baked at 350 degrees for seven minutes. I knew I'd like a bolder lemon flavor so I added 1-1/2 tsp. grated lemon zest to the filling. After pouring the filling into the crust, I baked the pie an additional 15 minutes. I omitted the meringue as I preferred to top it with whipped cream. This was light, silky smooth and refreshing, and probably about the easiest pie to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Three generations of my family have made this pie - nearly identical recipe - we just use fresh lemons. It is absolutely THE best! We usually have to make two to avoid fights over the left overs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This is an awesome recipe. I usually throw two lemons in the blender and then strain the juice allowing some pulp to slip in. That will take care of any excessive sweetness ppl have mentioned. A wonderful pie that should be made a summer tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Is GREAT!!I've been making this recipe for decades.. The TRICK to this pie is to mix egg yolks and sweetened milk thoroughly before adding lemon juice and while mixing add lemon and mix just enough to mix good and then pour into pie shell immediatly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Very good recipe! The filling gets 5 stars, but the meringue only gets 3 (I averaged them to get 4). The meringue is incredibly skimpy. I recommend doubling the egg whites, although it isn't necessary to double the sugar. I loved how easy the filling was compared to the lemon filling I usually make. It took less time and dirtied fewer pans. It also cooked beautifully and kept beautifully. No separating at the edges, and no weeping or beading! I made this first in a lemon version, then in a lime version. The lime was good, but the lemon was better. If you want a little stronger flavor, simply grate a little zest into it. But everyone who ate my pies thought the flavor was great just as it was. Hope this helps someone.:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
We have used this recipe in our family for YEARS. This is my favorite dessert. It sets MUCH better by using freshly squeezed lemon juice. (I believe the acids in the lemon causes it to set. Just a guess!) It also tastes a whole lot better with real lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2000
WHAT A DISASTER!! This Pie doesn't set. I tried it 3 times, all with the result that it could be drunk through a straw!! Don't bother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
If you like lemon curd- you will LOVE this pie! This is an incredible tasting & easy to make pie! I don't know why others have had a hard time getting theirs to come out, but both times I've made it, it was perfect. I make sure to beat the filling on high for 3-5 minutes and it comes out nice and thick. I haven't had any problems at all with the meringue turning out although I do double the meringue ingredients so I can have a higher topping on my pie- I think it's nicer looking. Each time I've made this it's folks devour it in seconds- not even a piece left over for the one who baked it! Your recipe has been added to the Christmas Pie Must list- that's a HUGE honor in our house! This pie is great and I thank you so very much for sharing it!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This is the best Lemon Meringue Recipe! The sweetened condensed milk makes it unbelievable rich. I have made this for the last 30 years and my Mother made it before that. I don't understand why anyone would have any problems with it. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Living In: Wallingford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
My husband loved it! After reading the reviews, I used 1 tsp. less sugar in the meringue, and it was just the right amount of sugar. This was my first time making a meringue pie, and so I didn't "beat until stiff" since I didn't know how long that was. I should have beaten it for a lot longer. I also used a refrigerated egg, even though the recipe said to use a room temp egg. I should have listened. The meringue wasn't tall at all. I'll definately try this one again though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States