Magic Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I have made this pie for 20 years and my husband loves. However, I made it twice yesterday with the same results as the person who rated it as a "Disaster". It was so gooey and runny. Something was wrong, but it wasn't the recipe. If anyone has a clue, please post it. I'm at a loss, unless the eggs or milk was bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I love this pie. Our family has been eating it for special occasions for three generations, we use real lemons, and make a pie crust, not graham crackers. My sister has even won a few pie bake offs at church with this recipe. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RicsGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This is the same recipe my mom and grandma have used for years, and one of my all time favorites. The only difference is we add 1 tsp of grated lemon grind (helps a little with the sweetness), 1 tsp of cream of tartar, and only 1 Tbsp of sugar. If you don't like sweet desserts, this one may not be for you. However, it's a huge hit at gatherings for anyone who likes lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I would call this more of alemon cream pie. The filling was a bit soft, but had good flavor. I could definitely have used more meringue than just 2 egg whites worth. Left it kind of thin on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I found this pie easy and delicious, although without cream of tartar, the meringue did pull away from the sides a bit. Definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trixie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leipzig, Sachsen, Germany
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This is the best Lemon Meringue Recipe! The sweetened condensed milk makes it unbelievable rich. I have made this for the last 30 years and my Mother made it before that. I don't understand why anyone would have any problems with it. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Living In: Wallingford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This is the way to make lemon meringue pie in south america... except no eggs for the filling. Just can and fresh lemons. If the pie is runny you need to work on the meringue because it is "weeping" on you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Three generations of my family have made this pie - nearly identical recipe - we just use fresh lemons. It is absolutely THE best! We usually have to make two to avoid fights over the left overs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
It IS a very sweet pie - I generally use 3 yolks, which cuts the sweetness somewhat, and like other reviewers did, you can cut way back on the sugar in the meringue, but this recipe definitely requires a sweet tooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
WAY TOO SWEET - i even cut out a tbsp of the sugar. the meringue was fantastic though...and it's really easy. not sure how to make it less sweet though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States