Magic Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Whitney
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
After I made this my husband kept saying, "Babe, I'm gonna end up eating the whole thing." Which I just took to mean he was just complementing it. Well, that evening I went to get a piece, didn't see the pie in the fridge - found the empty pie plate in the sink. So, I guess it was fabulous. I'll have to make another tonight to find out for myself (and also bacause my husband is already asking for another).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
we love this pie! It's very easy, and the texture and taste is perfect. I make it every holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Is GREAT!!I've been making this recipe for decades.. The TRICK to this pie is to mix egg yolks and sweetened milk thoroughly before adding lemon juice and while mixing add lemon and mix just enough to mix good and then pour into pie shell immediatly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I have made this recipe many times. Here is what I have changed. I have my husband make a regular homemade pie crust (cause I can't make a piecrust :)). I use all the ingredients for the filling but I use a whipped cream topping instead of the meringue. I like the creaminess of the whipped cream. Also, I have tried this with limes instead of lemons and it is outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Beat the filling and meringue for a long time to make sure... came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This is an OLD family favorite, going back 50 years or more. We've never done it with meringue; we've always topped ours with (homemade) whipped cream, and always in a homemade graham cracker crust. The menfolk fight over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Really good & easy to make! My grandmother made a recipe similar to this, but she never gave it to anyone. It died with her. This pie is a carbon copy to her pie. Not only did it taste yummy, it brought back great memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
The pie can be a little too sweet. I substitute 1 tbsp key lime juice for 1 tbsp of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This is an awesome recipe. I usually throw two lemons in the blender and then strain the juice allowing some pulp to slip in. That will take care of any excessive sweetness ppl have mentioned. A wonderful pie that should be made a summer tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
we had a fight break out over this pie. it was'nt too tart or sweet. i did use a regular pie crust as well as doubled the meraigne. i will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States