Magic Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Excellent pie. I made it in a pastry crust. It has just the right amount of sweetness and lemon taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tetya
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Awesome Lemon Pie! For better lemon taste I added 1-2 tsp grated lemon zest to filling, as naples34102 suggested (thanks for the advise). I omitted the cream of tartar because didnt have it, but the meringue came out great (I used 3 eggs). I was so excited to try this one, couldnt wait... so when I cut it, the filling was flowing, I was disappointed. But the next day, after it been in a fridge, it turned out normal. SO I suggest, to cool it completely or refrigerate before serving. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This lemon version of Key Lime Pie was creamy and delicious! I made my own crust using 1-1/4 c. graham cracker crumbs, 2 T. sugar and 5 T. melted butter, which I baked at 350 degrees for seven minutes. I knew I'd like a bolder lemon flavor so I added 1-1/2 tsp. grated lemon zest to the filling. After pouring the filling into the crust, I baked the pie an additional 15 minutes. I omitted the meringue as I preferred to top it with whipped cream. This was light, silky smooth and refreshing, and probably about the easiest pie to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Delicious! I used fresh lemons and added some lemon zest too. The leftovers the next day was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I love this lemon pie. You do have to make sure you beat the filling at least 2 minutes for it to thicken. I also use 3 egg whites for the meringue because we like it fluffy. My mom used to make this all the time and it brings back fond memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeaness Thibodeau

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Very good recipe! The filling gets 5 stars, but the meringue only gets 3 (I averaged them to get 4). The meringue is incredibly skimpy. I recommend doubling the egg whites, although it isn't necessary to double the sugar. I loved how easy the filling was compared to the lemon filling I usually make. It took less time and dirtied fewer pans. It also cooked beautifully and kept beautifully. No separating at the edges, and no weeping or beading! I made this first in a lemon version, then in a lime version. The lime was good, but the lemon was better. If you want a little stronger flavor, simply grate a little zest into it. But everyone who ate my pies thought the flavor was great just as it was. Hope this helps someone.:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I didn't like the texture nor was the lemon flavor strong enough. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This was pretty good. It was 5 stars for simplicity but just about 4 stars for taste. It wasn't bad but not amazing either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Idyllwild, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This was too sweet. I should have read the reviews before I made it. Also not enough meringue. Need more egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calliecat

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I love recipes with sweetened condensed milk. It gives this pie a smooth consistency, and sure makes it easy to make. However, we felt that this recipe was too sweet. If you like really sweet desserts, you'll like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States