Magic Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This lemon version of Key Lime Pie was creamy and delicious! I made my own crust using 1-1/4 c. graham cracker crumbs, 2 T. sugar and 5 T. melted butter, which I baked at 350 degrees for seven minutes. I knew I'd like a bolder lemon flavor so I added 1-1/2 tsp. grated lemon zest to the filling. After pouring the filling into the crust, I baked the pie an additional 15 minutes. I omitted the meringue as I preferred to top it with whipped cream. This was light, silky smooth and refreshing, and probably about the easiest pie to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Delicious! I used fresh lemons and added some lemon zest too. The leftovers the next day was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I love this lemon pie. You do have to make sure you beat the filling at least 2 minutes for it to thicken. I also use 3 egg whites for the meringue because we like it fluffy. My mom used to make this all the time and it brings back fond memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCRAPJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Very good recipe! The filling gets 5 stars, but the meringue only gets 3 (I averaged them to get 4). The meringue is incredibly skimpy. I recommend doubling the egg whites, although it isn't necessary to double the sugar. I loved how easy the filling was compared to the lemon filling I usually make. It took less time and dirtied fewer pans. It also cooked beautifully and kept beautifully. No separating at the edges, and no weeping or beading! I made this first in a lemon version, then in a lime version. The lime was good, but the lemon was better. If you want a little stronger flavor, simply grate a little zest into it. But everyone who ate my pies thought the flavor was great just as it was. Hope this helps someone.:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I didn't like the texture nor was the lemon flavor strong enough. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This was pretty good. It was 5 stars for simplicity but just about 4 stars for taste. It wasn't bad but not amazing either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Idyllwild, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This was too sweet. I should have read the reviews before I made it. Also not enough meringue. Need more egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calliecat

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I love recipes with sweetened condensed milk. It gives this pie a smooth consistency, and sure makes it easy to make. However, we felt that this recipe was too sweet. If you like really sweet desserts, you'll like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
If you like lemon curd- you will LOVE this pie! This is an incredible tasting & easy to make pie! I don't know why others have had a hard time getting theirs to come out, but both times I've made it, it was perfect. I make sure to beat the filling on high for 3-5 minutes and it comes out nice and thick. I haven't had any problems at all with the meringue turning out although I do double the meringue ingredients so I can have a higher topping on my pie- I think it's nicer looking. Each time I've made this it's folks devour it in seconds- not even a piece left over for the one who baked it! Your recipe has been added to the Christmas Pie Must list- that's a HUGE honor in our house! This pie is great and I thank you so very much for sharing it!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
A great recipe for when you need dessert in a pinch, though the topping didn't turn out for me. I had to put the pie with filling in the oven for 7 min to heat the filling up then put the topping on once the pie was hot. The first time I put the topping on the cool filling and the bottom of the merange didn't cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States