Magic Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Very very good pie, and so easy it deserves an extra star. I did make a 3 (large) egg-white meringue with 1/4 cup sugar, and added a bit of yellow food coloring to closer mimic the color of lemon meringue, but other than that, followed the recipe to the letter. It really needs to be refrigerated overnight to set well. Make it tonight, ready in the morning. This will be my go-to recipe from now on when I need a quicky for potluck, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aggie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geneva, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This is a delicious lemon pie, and so much easier than the traditional lemon filling. I would definitely double the meringue next time, as it was not enough to make a high topping. This is a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Photo by nabut
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
this was awssum,,,, my mum usually makes a totally diffrent kind of lemon pie, but i wowed the family with this. i had to add a bit more flour because reviewers frightened me and i was affraid it'll stay liquidy, but it turned great *** I added a bit yellow coloring to make it look more like lemonZ :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nabut

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
4 out of 5 people in my house loved the pie...very very easy to make, and I think maybe the chef that had the sauce break and not turn out may have added the lemon too fast. I add it by the tablespoon and then I don't even have to use the beaters. Also, on a 9 inch pie pan I always use a 3 egg meringue and so I just threw in the 3rd yolk, kept the entire recipe the same, and still had great results. Even my picky husband who doesn't like lemon pie ate it and said it was good. But my son who is a lemon pie fanatic, said it isn't lemony enough for him, so next time I am going to use real lemons like other chefs have stated. But definately a keeper for those days you need a quick dessert. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
i just got this rec. about 2 weekes ago and have made 4 pies allready every one loves them and say it is the best lemon pie they have ever ate. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Excellent pie. I made it in a pastry crust. It has just the right amount of sweetness and lemon taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tetya
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Awesome Lemon Pie! For better lemon taste I added 1-2 tsp grated lemon zest to filling, as naples34102 suggested (thanks for the advise). I omitted the cream of tartar because didnt have it, but the meringue came out great (I used 3 eggs). I was so excited to try this one, couldnt wait... so when I cut it, the filling was flowing, I was disappointed. But the next day, after it been in a fridge, it turned out normal. SO I suggest, to cool it completely or refrigerate before serving. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This lemon version of Key Lime Pie was creamy and delicious! I made my own crust using 1-1/4 c. graham cracker crumbs, 2 T. sugar and 5 T. melted butter, which I baked at 350 degrees for seven minutes. I knew I'd like a bolder lemon flavor so I added 1-1/2 tsp. grated lemon zest to the filling. After pouring the filling into the crust, I baked the pie an additional 15 minutes. I omitted the meringue as I preferred to top it with whipped cream. This was light, silky smooth and refreshing, and probably about the easiest pie to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Delicious! I used fresh lemons and added some lemon zest too. The leftovers the next day was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I love this lemon pie. You do have to make sure you beat the filling at least 2 minutes for it to thicken. I also use 3 egg whites for the meringue because we like it fluffy. My mom used to make this all the time and it brings back fond memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCRAPJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States