Magic Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I grow up on a lemon Pie somewhat like this. We didn't have much money growing up so it was maked from Graham cracker crust, lemon juice and sweeten condensed milk. We loved it and my kids love it today. I can not wait to try it this way. It can only get better. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by landymaybelline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I give this 3.5 stars. It’s a good idea, but has some definite faults. First, there is not enough filling or meringue. The base is only about ½” deep and the topping about the same, making a small, flat pie that doesn’t fill the crust. I doubled the entire recipe and used a larger 10” pie crust. 4 egg whites gave an ample amount of meringue. Secondly, there is not enough lemon flavor. I like it tart. Fresh lemon juice alone is not enough and you can’t simply add more juice as it will be too runny. I added two tablespoons of lemon zest (use a microplane, not a grater). I still thought it could use a bit more zing so I put in ¼ tsp. lemon extract. I also added a bit of yellow food coloring. Third, I baked the pie 15 min. at 350 degrees. It’s necessary to bake longer so the eggs in the base are cooked and can set, and so bacteria in the eggs is killed. (I wondered if 6 minutes in the original recipe accomplished either of those.) Lastly, refrigerate the pie for several hours or overnight. The recipe doesn’t mention this but it needs to chill in order for the base to set. The result was an impressive-looking, intensely flavored pie. However the filling was still too soft, with the texture of pudding. Next time I’ll try adding an extra egg yolk to the base and baking longer. I may also bake the base first then add the topping and continue baking until brown. I might try less lemon juice and substitute with some lemon extract so there isn’t as much liquid in the base. Hmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Amazing Pie! I have become known as the pie lady, and this pie has become a favorite for summer pot lucks! I would definitely double the topping, only because I like it fluffy. It was very difficult to cover the pie with the topping proportions given, but its an easy fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShortCakes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Excellent recipe!!! Easy, too. I used an extra egg (both yolk & white) and made sure to mix the yolk and milk well before adding the lemon. I also made my own crust with graham cracker crumbs, sugar, and melted butter. I will be making this again...and I am picky about my recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
OMG, delicious! Reminds me of the frozen creamy lemon pies, but so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I found this to be too sweet but my husband loved it. Next time I might change the ratio of lemon and sugar to make it a bit more tart and a bit less sweet. Overall, good recipe - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Oakley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
So perfect. Almost the identical tothe ones I used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
My mom made this when I was a kid. I loved it then and still do. My Mom was the best!!! (Sorry other Moms) :) This pie is easy, delicious and so custard like. Much better than what you get at a bakery. Glad to see it here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This was very good...I used the Wilton meringue substitute instead of the egg whites. I would double the meringue recipe for more fluff and I had to brown it about 10-12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, New York, USA
Living In: Sharpsburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This is a good pie, not very lemony made with pre packaged lemon juice. Perfect for someone who wants a sweeter not tart at all lemon pie. Next time I will choose real lemons and less sugar for the meringue (I doubled the egg whites for the meringue as other suggested).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Schwartzman Lyon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States