Magic Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This was okay. But I used 3 LARGE room temperature eggs instead of 2, and 2 teaspoons - a tablespoon of the zest. When it came down to the meringue, I used the cream of tartar along with a sprinkle of salt, and drizzled in 1 teaspoon of vanilla and a hot syrup of 3/4 cups of water, 1 tablespoon of cornstarch and 6 tablespoons of sugar. Remember to use cold beaters and mixing bowl when making a meringue, and to spread the finished product on top of the pie AS SOON as it comes out of the oven the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Easy and perfect recipe! I just made my own graham crust (to avoid extra preservatives from the ready crust) and as other ppl said here i used fresh limes, some pulp and zest for the juice, then added it to the cond milk in a beater. Didnt try the meringue. Great dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I made this as a treat for my mil, she doesn't share lol. She informed me that it was quite good, though it needed a little more 'punch'. I'd definitely add some lemon zest next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I used to avoid any and all recipes that called for sweetened condensed milk, as they were invariably waay too sweet for me! Then one day my daughter requested a birthday Flan, and every recipe I found had that sicky sweet stuff in it. So decided to try using evaporated milk instead and add my own sugar to taste. It was a complete success! There are so many more recipes that I can try now, that I wouldn't before, because I can have complete control over the amount of sugar. Just sharing for those who also found this pie too sweet...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Love this type of lemon pie, for one pie I add 3 egg yolks and bake for 15 to 20 min without meringue @ 350 then let firm in fridge overnight. My family has been making this recipe for years and is always a hit. One pie is never enough so for family functions I make my own crust and use a 1/2 sheet cake size pan or larger depending on party size @ 1 1/2 to 2 inches deep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I followed this recipe to the letter, and after three days, it still wasn't set. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This is the lemon pie recipe my mother always used and it was always very popular at family get-togethers. P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
we had a pre-thanksgiving dinner party and everyone loved this pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettycrockertammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States