Magic Cookie Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS THAT HELPED ME: If you're like me, you'll probably be thinking "this is way too sweet" while you put all those chocolate chips on top of the crust & YOU'LL BE RIGHT! LOL I think 1/2 cup of one or a little less than 1/2C of each is perfect!! If you do chocolate chips only, try using a mixture of semi-sweet and milk chocolate. It's an amazing blend that I always get comments on!!! Second, mine turns out perfect using just a 14oz (1 cup) can of fat-free sweetened condensed milk. Thought that may help someone when trying to decide what can to buy w/o pre-measuring. I just drizzled all over, and it covered it perfectly! Lastly, when I don't have a box of graham cracker crumbs, I just use quick oats, and it still turns out good! I like to individually wrap these in plastic wrap so the kids can just grab and go. I'd say "grab and share" but they'd prefer eating the whole thing themselves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
515 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
These are always the first to go during the holiday period. I usually increase the graham cracker crust so the bar has a more solid base and the chocolate and butterscotch chips to 1 cup vs 3/4 cup. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
313 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
Substituted Quaker Quick 1 Minute Oats for graham cracker crumbs -- worked beautifully. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
My husband loves this one ... and so do I!! One hint - try putting the can of condensed milk in hot water for 5 minutes before pouring over the coconut, etc - it pours so easily and evenly over the rest of the bar. This may not be new to others, but I just thought of it today. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This recipe is NOT the original. You must mix the butter and crumbs together, then press into the bottom of the pan (which you definitely should grease before doing this!). Also, put in the chocolate, then nuts, then coconut, and finally drizzle with the milk. Otherwise, the bars fall apart because there's no "glue" to hold it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Although I prefer to leave the nuts off, this is the best version of this recipe. The milk MUST be on top of it all, make for a chewy, more gooey type bar. I've tried it with the milk over the crust first and it just wasn't nearly as good (disappointed). Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manlius, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
A great recipe... It turned out great just like it should when you exactly follow the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
I find it amazing that something so easy to prepare can be so delicious! I don't like butterscotch, so I used peanut butter chips instead. These cookies are really rich so the recipe goes a long way! My family's rating- a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
The coconut wasn't browning, so I baked the bars for 25 minutes and then stuck them under the broiler at low for 1-2 minutes. Broiling did just the trick- it gave the coconut a great golden color, just don't over-do it in the broiler because it can get too brown really quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
Quick and simple! You get great big results for just a little bit of work. We don't care for butterscotch, so I used cappucino chips and added 1/4t of cinnamon to the sw.cond. milk. I think the cinnamon enhances the chocolate/coffee flavor of the chips.Thanks for a great start,Shawn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States