Magic Cookie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
These were great at super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyhahn1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Galloway, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This is so delicious! The only reason I gave this 4 stars is because the recipe calls for sprinkling the crumbs. You have to create a crust on the pan and I poured the condensed milk with each layer so everything was nicely layered together without falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Delicious, perfect, a timeless classic! My family and friends gobble these up every time I make them. :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Very versatile recipe!! If you're finding it too sweet, I put Old Fashioned Oats in mine, and it tames the sweetness a little bit. Great recipe, because I was able to put a bunch of random items that have been sitting in our cupboard for a while: stale graham crackers, chocolate chips, chopped pecans, oats. Left out the coconut because we didn't have any and it's still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
The first time I had these was in 1973 when I went on vacation with my girl friends in San Clemente. Nancy's mother had made these and left them in the refrigerator for us to have when we got there. Oh My God, they were so good. Hers also had marshmellows on top. I got the recipe from her mother, and made them a few times, but over the years, the recipe got lost in moving. I am very glad to find it here. The other thing that I do differently is mix the butter and crackers together with a tablespoon of sugar - it helps the crust stay together, and the crust is good in its own right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne Boswell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
These are a holiday favorite for my husband's family. I have to take a double batch every year and usually come home with an empty pan!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Everyone loved it. remember mom used to make HELLO DOLLY. Wish I could ask her about it. Did as others & Put 1/2 the milk on bottom. EASY EASY EASY THANX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This is very similar to a recipe I used to make at a bakery I worked at years ago. It's great for people who don't like exact measurements and who like to experiment. At the bakery we used white chocolate, milk chocolate, and butterscotch chips, coconut, walnuts, and sweetened condensed milk. I have also tried peanut butter chips, almonds, and M&M baking pieces, all with great success. The only trick to this recipe is not baking it too long or the sugars in the milk will harden after cooling. Gooey-ness is the key!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I have been making these for years there are so many variations you can make with this recipe. It is a favorite in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Verde Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Great recipe! I used the boxed graham cracker crumbs along with lining the bottom of the 9x13 with parchment paper, which keeps it from sticking (for those who have problems with that). I also added marshmellows to the mix as well. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrdsGrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States