Magic Cookie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I made this recipe for the first time and it turned out awsom. Everyone loved them. I added a crumbled up heath bar to half of the batch and it turned out yummy. I had to double my crust to fit the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Sweet Moses!!! This was SOOOOOOO GOOD. It's really sweet though. I eyeballed the time it took to bake and it's crunchy on the edges but THAT'S THE BEST PART! As someone suggested, I added oats and used a combination of mini dark chocolate chips, regular chocolate chips and some peanut chips on the top as well as substituted some oats I had on hand for the portion of coconut -- all in an attempt to reduce the sweetness. Also used a smaller tin of milk. It was ridiculously easy to make. It's not the healthiest thing I've ever made but for one tray, I made 16 bars so I could even make it bite-sized. I wonder what would happen if you mix everything together and do a la macaroons? hmmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
These were so delicious! We couldn't stop eating them. I mixed the margarine and crumbs before adding it to the pan. I added some more graham cracker crumbs, about 2 1/2 cups total and didn't pour the entire can of milk, just left about a quarter out. it took me some strength to cut these up into bars and take them out of the pan. Will make these again, for sure! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This is a can't miss recipe! I used two cups of graham cracker crumbs and combined them with the butter to make a firmer crust. Used pecans because I prefer them to walnuts. I used 1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips which may have been overkill, an overflowing one cup is probably perfect. These are delish! Will definitely add to the party dessert rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Very easy and very yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I substituted animal cracker crumbs for graham cracker crumbs. Just zipped them up in my chopper. I also subbed evaporated milk with 1/4 cup of brown sugar (shaken together in a closed clean jar) for the sweetened condensed milk. I used almonds instead of walnuts, as well. Turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Next time I will mix the crumbs and butter together, then press in bottom of pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mora, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Perfect! Exactly what I remembered. There's only one problem: they're irresistible! I guarantee you these are NOT healthy, not with all that sugar! But oh so good!....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAGUWAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I throw the stick of butter in the pan while the oven is heating and then mix in the graham cracker crumbs. One less dish to dirty. I've also made these with white chocolate chips, cranberries and slivered almonds. They are always a hit no matter what combo is used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Superb! I mixed the crust with butter and then packed it down. I also used cashews, which is what I had on hand. My family can't keep out of them! We're giving to teachers this week for a gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States