Magic Cookie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 23, 2005
This was a great recipe for Christmas. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Delicious!! A few tips: Instead of margarine use 1/2 cup butter. Add butterscotch chips to the layer. Use 2 cups crunched graham crackers for the base. Be sure to melt the butter in a separate bowl and then mix the crunched graham crackers completely before adding it to the pan. (This avoids crumbs when cutting it). I made this for Easter and my brothers said it tasted like a party in their mouth! Huge success. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pawling, New York, USA
Living In: Kew Garden Hills, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
I substituted the butter for 4 oz. of non-fat yogurt and mixed it in with the graham cracker crust which cuts down dramatically on fat(over 100 calories less per serving). I think the amount of graham cracker crumbs should be doubled to 3 cups for more of a base. Also I put the condensed milk on first and then sprinkled the coconut flakes and finally topped it off with the chocolate chips and then baked until the coconut flakes were brown and the milk color darkened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
YUMMY! These are really good except I started with too much butter by accident and tried to double them but didn't have another can of sweetened condensed milk. I tried to use milk and sugar but they came out much more mushy than the others. They were all good though and I'd make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
These were always a Christmas tradition in our house growing up. We made them a little softer and moister though by mixing 1/4 of a can of milk with the sweetened condensed before pouring it over the other layers. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
This is one of my favorite bars but we always make the crust with cornflakes, butter and sugar. My family likes it better made that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
Quick, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
They tasted great, but were very flat and didn't look remotely attractive. A good 'around the house' bar, but I wouldn't take them to a pot luck just because of their appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
Whenever I make these bars for my college friends, they disappear like crazy! Out of everything that I bake, these seem to be everybody's favorite. The only suggestion I would make is to combine the graham cracker crumbs and butter together in a bowl instead of sprinkling the crumbs over the butter. This makes the crust firmer, and the bars do not break as easily. Other than that, these bars are excellent, and definitely a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
Just like Mom used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States