Magic Cookie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
its easier if you mix graham crumbs and butter first then push into the pan. I also put the coconut on last so it gets toasted. (I didnt have any milk so I found a substitute using eggs and brown sugar that was amazing)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Uhmanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
AGREE with the members who said the instructions are faulty - do not pour the sweetened condensed milk over all at the end! It is the FIRST layer after the crust, then you build up the layers on top of the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
i use peanut butter chips with heath bits it is so yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I've been making this recipe for at least 50-years, and everything here is correct EXCEPT that the condensed milk is poured over the GRAHAM CRACKER CRUMBS and then the chips, nuts and coconut added. DO NOT put the condensed milk over everything at the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly. These were so yummy! I had no problem with the crust not holding together. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I followed the instructions but used 3 cups of graham crackers and two cans of milk in the 9x13. Then I read the reviews but I think mine came out great. I will combine the cracker and butter and press in the pan next time. I think you can alter this anyway you would like...pecans, peanut butter chips etc. I loved the coconut in them. It puts you in the mind of the Girlscouts cookies. I also used a 1/2 cup more of chocolate. This is GREAT for any occasion and especially for a QUICK dessert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tis' Tasty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
simple easy delis
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I have made these for many years, they are so yummy and addictive.. the only difference I do is I only add the chocolate chips which is milk chocolate and I chop the nuts to small pieces but its addictive that I have to make another batch before they are all eaten up...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tykat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morinville, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I followed the recipe and wished I had doubled the crust as some reviewers have said. Also, it was very sticky and did not set, even when cool. The taste was OK. I won't bother doing it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Excellent! Have made these many times for years, but just wanted a refresher on the amount of graham crackers and coconut, etc. I remembered that I always add more graham cracker crumbs, about a half cup additional with a bit more butter and just a few Tbsp sugar. Then if you press it down firmly it actually sticks together. Also I use different nuts, today macadamia nuts and pecans... it turned out extraordinarily well. And finally, I do use a bit more coconut and a bit more chocolate chips. But I use a combination of bittersweet and semisweet, it cuts the sugar a little and you end up with a lot more chocolate flavor. Even though I add extra ingredients, the pan size and 1 can of sweetened condensed milk is plenty. So, this is a great basic recipe that can be modified to personal taste without any ill effects. :) That's my favorite kind of recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States