Magic Cookie Bars from EAGLE BRAND® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Everyone loves this, it's addictive. Some hints, when doing the butter/graham crust, add 1/4 teasp. cinnamon. Melt butter in a pot on stove, then stir in the graham crackers, then put it in the pan and press it down evenly. This way, the crust stays together much better than just sprinkling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1595 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I used a combination of chocolate chips and butterscotch chips, and walnuts. I pre-mixed these along with the coconut, and poured the mixture over the condensed milk. My daughter who absolutely HATES nuts, and my son who isn't especially fond of coconut, couldn't stay away from these. Nobody could! These easy things were the holiday favorites at the parties I took them to, and it made me wish I hadn't wasted my time on all the other difficult desserts I also brought (and ended up bringing back home). I *would not* line the pan with foil--I believe it would tear when cutting and get stuck in the cookie bars. Eeww. I used a glass dish *without* greasing it first, and it wasn't a bad clean-up at all. Do chill the bars before cutting, and cut the bars into SMALL servings, as a little goes a long way with this super-rich recipe. I definitely would mix the graham crackers and melted butter next time, pressing them firmly into the pan, and then greasing the dish might be a good idea. I might also try semi-sweet chocolate chips, as this recipe is ultra-sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
633 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Freeman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I mixed the crumbs into the butter before patting it into the pan. Also, I wish I had added the nuts before the coconut so the nuts wouldn't taste roasted. Other than that, this was a simple recipe and it was a good combination of flavors. The sides didn't stick much to the pan, but next time, I'll try the foil and spray as suggested for easier cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
431 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
These are fabulous. However, I increased the crust to 2 1/2 cups of crumbs and added a little more butter to the original recipe. I also added 1/2 cup of white choco-chips and reduced the amount of nuts. It really has to cool before being cut or it makes a mess. They freeze very well, especially if left uncut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
My older sister made these about 20 years ago for Christmas, and I have made them every year since! They are a always a big hit at the office and at holiday gatherings. I usually make a slightly thicker crust, but other than that, follow the recipe faithfully. And yes, these are VERY rich...so cut into small bars. Tip: Mix the chips nuts and coconut together in a mixing bowl and then press into pan...more evenly distributes all the ingredients..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I volunteered to bring something for our annual Christmas bazaar for church - even though I don't bake much any more. These were so easy to make! I used the version with 1/2 chocolate chips and 1/2 butterscotch. The ladies in the kitchen that were packaging the baked goods tasted them and said they were great. It seems that a lot of people know what they are because they sold right away. If you want better directions for the same recipe look for the site that says 7 layer Magic Bars by Eagle brand - they seem to have improved the directions for that recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
This has always been a favorite of mine since I was young. When I left the States in 1974 and settled in Australia my biggest problem was that I couldn't get graham crackers, so I substituted a "Coffee" biscuit. This worked fine. The only other change I make is to pour the condensed milk over all the layers just before I put it in the oven. This seems to bind everything together and the top then turns a lovely golden brown when cooked. This is always a hit at any gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I made this recipes with 1/2 chocolate chips and 1/2 reeses peanut butter morsels mix and it was outstanding. I also found it helpful to press down on the bars with a spatula before baking, this makes it settle better. For a quick clean up, line the pan with aluminum foil and spray the foil with PAM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
My kids went crazy for these, very sweet and chocolately. The crust was a little tricky for me though, I don't understand why the butter needs to be melted in the oven? Next time I'll just put it in the microwave, mix in the crumbs and press into the pan:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
Pretty good. Next time I will mix the butter and crumbs together and press into the pan to prevent it from crumbling. I also should have waited until they had chilled before slicing into them, they would have held their shape a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 481) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States