Magic Cookie Bars from EAGLE BRAND® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
These go like hotcakes. People love them and can't stop eating them. A real crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Derickson Jambois

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
These were pretty good! I mixed the sweet condensed milk with the cocnut instead of putting it directy on the gram crust. Not sure if that was why the gram crust came out so crumbly. I may add a little extra butter to the gramcrust (mix the melted butter with the gram's before pressing into pan) and i may bake the crust for a few minutes prior to adding the coconut topping. All in All a very rich dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
My family loves this and all the variations we have made. (various chips, nuts, etc.) I have found that an extra Tblsp of sugar mixed in with the graham cracker crumbs helps keep the crust together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
My mother always made these for me to take to school (in the 1970s) when I had to bring a dessert for a party. They went like hotcakes everytime! I don't usually put the nuts in them though. I actually thought it was my mom's recipe until I saw it on the back the Eagle Brand Condensed milk can, ha ha!!!! Anyway, no fail recipe definitely! and a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oooyummy!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cameron Park, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Always a favorite during the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA
Living In: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I make these every year and they are always the first to be eaten from my cookie baskets. I usually bake the recipe as is. Substituting some choc chips for butterscotch and they are delicious but the original is a classic staple that is always a hit. Oh and to cheat I use a piazza cutter to slice them onto bars, much easier and creates uniformity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Just tried this recipe. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjking
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is a good recipe if you do the following: --use unsalted butter (the salt in the butter comes out too much) --don't forget to press everything firmly before pouring condensed milk --split the condensed milk half over crumb base and other half over all ingredients. (don't pour all at the end as others have suggested, you need to adhere the bottom and the top layer --increase the crumbs to about 2 1/2 --wait until it's cooled entirely before cutting The base is pretty crumbly still, not sure how to keep it firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I have always made these but poured the milk over the top, now I just made them with the milk over the grahams crackers and hope they turn out. They look good, and taste awesome! I could eat the whole pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Costello

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This recipe is nostalgic...and devine. Making magic layer cookie bars is an art of its own kind. First, let me start by saying I have always eaten the variation kind, where 1 cup of chocolate chips is substituted with butterscoth. The substitution adds so much more depth and chemistry to the bar. It ties with the coconut like a match made in heavena and keeps the flavor from being a monotonous overpowering chocolate. Secondly, the crust is a holy layer in itself. DO NOT cut the bars when they are hot. You will create a DISASTER. Chill the bars in the fridge for a while and the crust will be firm, still delicate, but not rock hard. Overall, the combination of sweet, creamy and just slightly salty is an amazing experience. The textures as well are insane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 485) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States