Magic Cookie Bars from EAGLE BRAND® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This recipe is nostalgic...and devine. Making magic layer cookie bars is an art of its own kind. First, let me start by saying I have always eaten the variation kind, where 1 cup of chocolate chips is substituted with butterscoth. The substitution adds so much more depth and chemistry to the bar. It ties with the coconut like a match made in heavena and keeps the flavor from being a monotonous overpowering chocolate. Secondly, the crust is a holy layer in itself. DO NOT cut the bars when they are hot. You will create a DISASTER. Chill the bars in the fridge for a while and the crust will be firm, still delicate, but not rock hard. Overall, the combination of sweet, creamy and just slightly salty is an amazing experience. The textures as well are insane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I thought they were a little sweet, but everyone at work absolutely loved these and were asking for the recipe. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendynik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
A favorite for YEARS!! Christmas cookie platters wouldn't be the same without them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
OMG these were sinfully delish!! Their also very addicting you cant just eat one. Instead of putting 2 cups of chocolate chips I put only one cup of chocolate chips and one cup butterscotch chips and they were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Tip #1: Cut the bars before refrigerating them. Do NOT refrigerate and then expect to cut it the next day. It was hard as a rock and I couldn't cut it. It was pretty decent immediately after baking it but the next day it was hardened and not so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This recipe brings back memories from my childhood. I made as the recipe is written. It's delicious & easy. I think the only thing I would do different is press the crust down a little better as it fell apart a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I followed some of the advice of others. I bought my items at the bulk barn if i didn't already have them. I used 2 cups of graham crumbs and mixed it with the melted butter (microwaved) first then patted it into the pan. then added about 3/4 of the condensed milk, then about 1 1/2 cups of chopped walnuts. Then mixed together in a bowl the coconut (1/2 sweetened 1/2 not) with 1 cup of chocolate chips and 1/2 cup of peanut butter chips (because I had them). sprinkled that mixture on top and drizzled the entire thing with the 1/4 of the condensed milk I had left. wouldn't change a thing. Thanks all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This is a recipe from my childhood! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was that one step seemed off from the way my mom and grandma always did it, but I followed the recipe anyway...mistake. DO NOT add the milk until last step, pour it over ALL the ingredients, not just the crust...doing it this way binds it all together, following the recipe as listed makes the crust mushy and leaves all the toppings loose and crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
These cookie bars are VERY GOOD!!!!!!!!! I did what the other reviewer said and added about 2 1/4 cups of graham crackers and a little more butter. Don't cut these until they are cool or else they will make a mess. Yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AndTheKitchenSink
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Here is how I made these and they turned out Excellent. I used 2c of cracker crumbs, 1/2c butter (melted and mixed w/crumbs) pressed into a lined (parchment) 13x9. I then used half a bag of Butterscotch chip however I used my food processor to size them down to a crumb slightly chunky mixture so they wouldn't be too overpowering and sweet. I put the condensed milk into the microwave to warm for 15 seconds, with this thinned warmed milk i poured half onto the crust, then put on the mini semi sweet chips (half bag) the crumbly butterscotch chips, on top of the chips I drizzled some of the milk then applied the coconut to the top of that to give something to adhere too. I pressed this all down and then added the rest of the milk to the top of the coconut. Last I added a light sprinkling of coconut to the top (I love the browned toasted coconut) and a few scatters of mini chips. Baked 325 (glass pan) for 25 minutes, let cool 2 hours. Perfect and each bar was not filled with an overwhelming butterscotch or chocolate taste, perfect blend! Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndTheKitchenSink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 476) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States