Magic Cookie Bars from EAGLE BRAND® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
My great aunt used to make these every year for Christmas. An absolute favorite and special treat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Absolutely my new favorite recipe for the holidays. I made a batch to divide and give out as gifts and my husband finished them off. I ended up making 3 batches, everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Make sure to add cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I made these with dark chocolate M&Ms (another reviewer advised against milk chocolate due to sweetness overload, and I fully agree) in Christmas colors for a holiday treat. Perfect! After trying a few variations, found that sticking to the recipe exactly worked best. On to pf the graham cracker then milk layer, I put the nuts down first, then the chocolate (M&Ms in my case) then the layer of coconut on top - makes it easy to press down. Simple to make and GREAT tasting. People rave about 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Would have given this 5 stars, but it felt lacking on the graham cracker crumbs. I added a few extra when I saw how sparse the bottom of the pan was with the recipe amount, and it still wasn't enough. Modify that, and it should turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This is an easy recipe to make. It's egg free which I like because I have a friend with egg allergies. Love this with dark chocolate chips also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi1030

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
When I started helping my mom make these bars 40 years ago, they were called, Dippy-Chippy Bars and everyone LOVED them!! The crust was much easier back then as the recipe called for the Graham crackers to be left whole and fitted into the bottom of the pan. Then melted butter was poured over the top. The rest of the recipe was the same and used butterscotch chips as well. When the bars were done, you did not notice any gaps left by mis-matched cracker edges as the condensed milk and butter settles into the crackers and makes this wonderful carmelish glue that holds it all together!! Much easier than messing with crumbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I have loved these since I was a little kid making them. They're so easy! When I introduced them to my husband a few years ago, he couldn't believe how awesome they were. He volunteers to make them even though he's the chef, not the baker in our house. They're a hit everywhere we go! He had a brilliant idea of adding fresh chopped bing cherries once. That was delicious! We've mixed it up by adding dried cranberries or using different nut or chips. I can't say enough about this recipe. Very rich, so take little squares, if you can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloriabeatrice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elrosa, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waterford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
These are a 'blast from the past' and still hard to beat......and sooo very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I have also made this recipe every year for nearly 3 decades! My aunt used to make this and now my mom and I make them all the time. We actually pour the condensed milk over the top of the entire layered cookie--saving it the end. It makes the cookies taste candied and then we freeze them before serving them. Super delicious cold vs. room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States