Magic Cookie Bars from EAGLE BRAND® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
When I started helping my mom make these bars 40 years ago, they were called, Dippy-Chippy Bars and everyone LOVED them!! The crust was much easier back then as the recipe called for the Graham crackers to be left whole and fitted into the bottom of the pan. Then melted butter was poured over the top. The rest of the recipe was the same and used butterscotch chips as well. When the bars were done, you did not notice any gaps left by mis-matched cracker edges as the condensed milk and butter settles into the crackers and makes this wonderful carmelish glue that holds it all together!! Much easier than messing with crumbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I have loved these since I was a little kid making them. They're so easy! When I introduced them to my husband a few years ago, he couldn't believe how awesome they were. He volunteers to make them even though he's the chef, not the baker in our house. They're a hit everywhere we go! He had a brilliant idea of adding fresh chopped bing cherries once. That was delicious! We've mixed it up by adding dried cranberries or using different nut or chips. I can't say enough about this recipe. Very rich, so take little squares, if you can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloriabeatrice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elrosa, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waterford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
These are a 'blast from the past' and still hard to beat......and sooo very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I have also made this recipe every year for nearly 3 decades! My aunt used to make this and now my mom and I make them all the time. We actually pour the condensed milk over the top of the entire layered cookie--saving it the end. It makes the cookies taste candied and then we freeze them before serving them. Super delicious cold vs. room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I have always made these according to the directions. Everyone loves them, even people who think they don't like coconut or nuts! Someone always asks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I LOVE these cookies! Have been making them since I was a kid. Definitely use real butter with the graham cracker crumb crust. I melt the butter in the pan in the oven as it preheats. No need for cooking spray! Then just sprinkle the crumbs into the melted butter and continue on with your layers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
These are good BUT if you mix the choc chips with Butterscotch chips and put pecans on top and then bake it changes the whole taste for a 1000% better taste. Try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Delicious, but this recipe leaves them too crumbly. Mix butter and crumbs first (I use processor). Put on chips, nuts, then coconut. Drizzle the milk LAST so that it soaks all the toppings. This creates a more solid bar and helps the coconut to brown to a nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This definitely is an old fasioned favorite! And, there's really virtually nothing you can do to screw it up. It's not like there's any complicated directions or measuring here. It's straightforward and all the ingredients come together to compliment each other. I crushed my graham crackers by putting them into a ziploc bag and going over them with a rolling pin. I used a throw away tin to bake these in that I sprayed with a little Pam. I follwed the recipe exactly and you can substitute white chocolate chips or butterscotch for half the amount of semisweet chocolate if you want to change it up a bit. These were so easy and oh so delectable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
These are one of those ol' standbys, but I've never met anyone who didn't love them. Even people who don't like coconut seem to love these! Fast and easy, you can freeze these and they're awesome to eat even while frozen. In fact, I prefer them that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 483) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States