Magic Cookie Bars from EAGLE BRAND® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This recipe brings back memories from my childhood. I made as the recipe is written. It's delicious & easy. I think the only thing I would do different is press the crust down a little better as it fell apart a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I followed some of the advice of others. I bought my items at the bulk barn if i didn't already have them. I used 2 cups of graham crumbs and mixed it with the melted butter (microwaved) first then patted it into the pan. then added about 3/4 of the condensed milk, then about 1 1/2 cups of chopped walnuts. Then mixed together in a bowl the coconut (1/2 sweetened 1/2 not) with 1 cup of chocolate chips and 1/2 cup of peanut butter chips (because I had them). sprinkled that mixture on top and drizzled the entire thing with the 1/4 of the condensed milk I had left. wouldn't change a thing. Thanks all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This is a recipe from my childhood! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was that one step seemed off from the way my mom and grandma always did it, but I followed the recipe anyway...mistake. DO NOT add the milk until last step, pour it over ALL the ingredients, not just the crust...doing it this way binds it all together, following the recipe as listed makes the crust mushy and leaves all the toppings loose and crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
These cookie bars are VERY GOOD!!!!!!!!! I did what the other reviewer said and added about 2 1/4 cups of graham crackers and a little more butter. Don't cut these until they are cool or else they will make a mess. Yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AndTheKitchenSink
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Here is how I made these and they turned out Excellent. I used 2c of cracker crumbs, 1/2c butter (melted and mixed w/crumbs) pressed into a lined (parchment) 13x9. I then used half a bag of Butterscotch chip however I used my food processor to size them down to a crumb slightly chunky mixture so they wouldn't be too overpowering and sweet. I put the condensed milk into the microwave to warm for 15 seconds, with this thinned warmed milk i poured half onto the crust, then put on the mini semi sweet chips (half bag) the crumbly butterscotch chips, on top of the chips I drizzled some of the milk then applied the coconut to the top of that to give something to adhere too. I pressed this all down and then added the rest of the milk to the top of the coconut. Last I added a light sprinkling of coconut to the top (I love the browned toasted coconut) and a few scatters of mini chips. Baked 325 (glass pan) for 25 minutes, let cool 2 hours. Perfect and each bar was not filled with an overwhelming butterscotch or chocolate taste, perfect blend! Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndTheKitchenSink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I've got a small fan base with mine... Instead of semi-sweet chips (Semi-sweet = Mostly Bitter) I mix it up with milk chocolate and white chocolate chips. Depending on my mood, I'll substitute the graham cracker crust with pie crust for the base. Works out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
We have had these bars for Thanksgiving eve since I was a small child. Beloved by all. This year I bought the cracker crumbs already crushed and made them totally PERFECT :) Prep time was less than 10 minutes and even my most picky grandson loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
We really enjoyed this recipe a lot - just the right amount of sweetness! I think I only used about 1 cup of the chips and 1 cup of the coconut and it still covered the pan evenly. I used chopped raw almonds for the nuts which was a great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tannis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I make a bar like this but i put the milk on last over everything,it makes it really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
orgasmic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 491) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States