Magic Cookie Bars from EAGLE BRAND® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
My mom made these for us when we were kids - they were always my FAVORITE and still are! My daughter doesn't like coconut, so I substitute marshmallows for the coconut - this year we are going to try using the chocolate chips with the caramel inside as well - I think they will be better (I didn't think the ones we made with marshmallows tasted nearly as good as with the coconut, but I think with the addition of the caramel-filled chocolate chips, they might be better!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I can see why everyone is so confused with this recipe. I have been making it for years, at least 30 years! And this recipe needs to be tweaked. Yes, the butter and graham crackers go on the bottom, Followed by: The Chips, The Nuts, The Coconut, and "THEN" The Condensed Milk on top of everything. That way you get a nice cookie that stays together and cuts easily. And for heaven's sake, don't put it in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I melt the butter in the 9 x 13 dish while I am crushing the graham crackers. Then add the graham crackers to the butter, mix together add chips, coconut and nuts and add the sweetened condensed milk last it's better that way. This way it settles through all of the items not just the crust on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Make these often...so quick and easy and yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This has been my favorite cookie bar since I was a small child. One reviewer said to reduce the chocolate chips and I strongly disagree. I actually ADD choc chips until the entire pan is sufficiently covered. Sometimes I make with nuts but since my family is not a big nut in a cookie fan, I usually don't and these are always the first cookies to go. ALWAYS. Just remember to coll fully before cutting into bars, but you should run a knife around the edges of the pan right when it comes out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnM Simons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Yes, it's been a family favorite for decades. I lost my recipe in a recent move!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Great dessert. Loved by all. easy to make .And quick..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Too sweet as is. Better with half the choc chips, and unsweetened coconut. I use coconut biscuits for crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I am not a cookie or cookie bar person, but I tried these at a friend's suggestion and loved it. A definite winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
My family has made these bars for years & they are very sweet. I made a less sweet version & it turned out wonderful ( the crust did not fall apart!!!) Here is what I did to make a smaller & less sweet batch...Using a round cake pan, sprayed with cooking spray...melt 6 tbls. butter in saucepan. Stir in 1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs. Press mixture into pan. Pour 1/2 can Eagle Brand over crumbs, layer with 1/2 cup UN-sweetened coconut, 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips & 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. Bake at 325 for 25-30 minutes. Cool completely. Cut into bars. This way of making these held up wonderfully. They are a lot less sweeter than the original version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 491) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States