Mafioso Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2000
This cake tasted sinful. It was very moist and rich. I used it to make a four layer cake for my husband's college graduation party and everyone requested to take home the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
I usually make a chocolate cake using a box and adding pudding but decided to try to make one from scratch this year. I have dear friends that just love a good chocolate cake. I tried this recipe and and WOW! It was melt in your mouth delicious. The frosting was nice and thick and easy to spread. I have never had frosting turn out so well. I made a two layer quarter sheet cake because the single layer looked a bit small. The two layer was a giant and perfect for Christmas dinner! It was a little time consuming to make but well worth it. I made it a day ahead and it was perfect! I can not say enough good things about this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I made a very amateur mistake in making this: I was lazy and didn't bother to clean the beaters before whipping up the egg whites. So, I didn't get peaks. But the "cake" came out really good. Not cakey, but almost like chocolate bread pudding. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2001
OH MY. What a delicious, special dessert. I added about 1/2 tsp almond to both the cake batter and the frosting. Very similar to Molten Choc Cakes in taste and texture, but easier to do in a 9x13" pan. A perfect addition to our Italian "dinner and a movie" night - Shrimp Scampi, fresh pasta, and "The Godfather".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Excellent and moist. I made it with no icing, replaced the boiling water with strong, hot coffee and made large cupcakes (baked for 40 minutes). My husband says the tops are the best things ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Excellent!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2002
I must say, the cake IS worth the effort of making it. It was very moist and had a good rich chocolate flavor. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
This cake was so easy to make and was hit with all -even my "I don't do cake" nephew !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
awesome!! completly worth the shopping trip and effort, paired it with my great grandmother's fudge frosting and white chocolate drizzle, and doubled the recipe, and did it up proper, as a layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
After making this cake a second time and following the directions to the letter(with the slight exception of adding a 1/4 cup more dutch processed cocoa to the batter)I still have to say this is THE BEST CHOCOLATE CAKE I HAVE EVER HAD. I love it without the frosting, but with a layer of it, it's over the top chocolatey. WOW, am I glad I have this recipe. Some people have remarked about the 300 degree temperature. Trust me, if your oven is accurate it turns out perfect. ENJOY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States