Mafioso Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sheri S.
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Very good chocolate cake! It's definitely much better than a cake mix! I didn't have cake flour and found that I could use 1 3/4 c. of all purpose flour and 1/4 c. of cornstarch as a substitute for the 2 cups of cake flour. I also couldn't find Dutch process cocoa powder at the store. It can be substituted with unsweetened cocoa. The substitution is as follows: for every 3 TBS. of unsweetened cocoa powder, add 1/8 tsp. of baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
I usually make a chocolate cake using a box and adding pudding but decided to try to make one from scratch this year. I have dear friends that just love a good chocolate cake. I tried this recipe and and WOW! It was melt in your mouth delicious. The frosting was nice and thick and easy to spread. I have never had frosting turn out so well. I made a two layer quarter sheet cake because the single layer looked a bit small. The two layer was a giant and perfect for Christmas dinner! It was a little time consuming to make but well worth it. I made it a day ahead and it was perfect! I can not say enough good things about this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I really loved this recipe and so did my boyfriend, his coworkers, and my clients. Yesterday, a client to whom I gave a cupcake version two weeks ago came back and raved! A couple of notes- the texture of this cake was interesting..very fine with concentrated flavor without being heavy. It was not the fluffy cake you'd get from a box...more refined and substantial like all the good things of an old fashioned cake combined with the moist, denseness that hinted at a flourless cake (but again, not heavy like that and not thick...like a silk texture). I followed the recipe to a tee, except that I substituted hot, very strong coffee for the water, and used ghiradelli unsweetened cocoa with baking soda to substitute for the dutch process cocoa (the baking soda comps for the alkali in dutch process) The use of the coffee and gourmet cocoa most likely enhanced the flavor of the cake greatly. I used the recipe to make cupcakes baked for 39-40 minutes at the prescribed temperature. They came out perfectly..nice and springy-light. The frosting was a lovely recipe...not too sweet, but still quite decadent. I am not much for super sweet frostings, so that affects my assessment. There was frosting left over, and my bf threatened to eat it with a spoon. This will be one of my "secret weapon" chocolate cake recipes for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2001
OH MY. What a delicious, special dessert. I added about 1/2 tsp almond to both the cake batter and the frosting. Very similar to Molten Choc Cakes in taste and texture, but easier to do in a 9x13" pan. A perfect addition to our Italian "dinner and a movie" night - Shrimp Scampi, fresh pasta, and "The Godfather".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
After making this cake a second time and following the directions to the letter(with the slight exception of adding a 1/4 cup more dutch processed cocoa to the batter)I still have to say this is THE BEST CHOCOLATE CAKE I HAVE EVER HAD. I love it without the frosting, but with a layer of it, it's over the top chocolatey. WOW, am I glad I have this recipe. Some people have remarked about the 300 degree temperature. Trust me, if your oven is accurate it turns out perfect. ENJOY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2000
This cake tasted sinful. It was very moist and rich. I used it to make a four layer cake for my husband's college graduation party and everyone requested to take home the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2002
I must say, the cake IS worth the effort of making it. It was very moist and had a good rich chocolate flavor. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
awesome!! completly worth the shopping trip and effort, paired it with my great grandmother's fudge frosting and white chocolate drizzle, and doubled the recipe, and did it up proper, as a layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
I didn't like the way this cake tasted at all. The frosting was too cocoa tasting and the cake was a dry texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I, too, substituted yogurt for the sour cream, I used nonfat. For a relatively lowfat cake (only 1 stick butter, no egg yolks and nonfat yogurt) it was good, but not as moist as I would like. This may be my fault because when it wasn't remotely done after 50 minutes in a 300 degree oven I pushed up the heat to 350 for ten minutes, and I might have overbaked by two or three minutes. It does seem to be a little more moist the second day. All my guests said the frosting made the cake, rather than vice-versa. I used the Chocolate Cheese Frosting recipe from allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States