Mafioso Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
This cake was so easy to make and was hit with all -even my "I don't do cake" nephew !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I, too, substituted yogurt for the sour cream, I used nonfat. For a relatively lowfat cake (only 1 stick butter, no egg yolks and nonfat yogurt) it was good, but not as moist as I would like. This may be my fault because when it wasn't remotely done after 50 minutes in a 300 degree oven I pushed up the heat to 350 for ten minutes, and I might have overbaked by two or three minutes. It does seem to be a little more moist the second day. All my guests said the frosting made the cake, rather than vice-versa. I used the Chocolate Cheese Frosting recipe from allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2002
I must say, the cake IS worth the effort of making it. It was very moist and had a good rich chocolate flavor. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2001
OH MY. What a delicious, special dessert. I added about 1/2 tsp almond to both the cake batter and the frosting. Very similar to Molten Choc Cakes in taste and texture, but easier to do in a 9x13" pan. A perfect addition to our Italian "dinner and a movie" night - Shrimp Scampi, fresh pasta, and "The Godfather".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
Definitely a chocolate lover's cake. I found it tasted better and was a little more moist the next day! yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
This cake was quite tasty. I substituted 2% strawberry yogurt for the sour cream and it worked quite well. It didn't taste like strawberry, but it was still delicious. I will try it again. Definately a moist and tasty treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
I didn't like the way this cake tasted at all. The frosting was too cocoa tasting and the cake was a dry texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
I usually make a chocolate cake using a box and adding pudding but decided to try to make one from scratch this year. I have dear friends that just love a good chocolate cake. I tried this recipe and and WOW! It was melt in your mouth delicious. The frosting was nice and thick and easy to spread. I have never had frosting turn out so well. I made a two layer quarter sheet cake because the single layer looked a bit small. The two layer was a giant and perfect for Christmas dinner! It was a little time consuming to make but well worth it. I made it a day ahead and it was perfect! I can not say enough good things about this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2000
This cake tasted sinful. It was very moist and rich. I used it to make a four layer cake for my husband's college graduation party and everyone requested to take home the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-49 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States