Mafioso Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This cake is so good! I was looking for a cake with the richness and density of cakes made with butter, and the moistness of cakes made with oil. This is it, so rich, dense and moist! I wondered about the cooking time/temp, but it was spot on in my oven. I did replace the boiling water with hot brewed coffee, because I always do that with chocolate cakes that call for boiling water, it deepens the chocolate flavor, and I threw in maybe a 1/4 tsp salt, because it seemed strange to me to havea recipe without it, although I don't know if that changed much or not. I used the Rich Chocolate Frosting recipe on this site, which looks very similar to the one given here, but we love that one so much I had to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This cake is very moist but VERY rich. I thought it was fabulous but wasn't impressed by the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Mauldin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
On the bright side, the frosting was excellent - good flavor, nice texture, and easy to make. The cake itself had a nice texture but the flavor was really lacking. It was not at all chocolatey enough and I added extra cocoa powder. I think you'd need to double or (more likely) triple the amount of cocoa in here and replace the water with something that has more flavor. This recipe also dirtied half of the dishes in my kitchen with all of the bowls it required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
A RICH, tasty chocolate cake. It took about an hour to mix up, so it's an effort, but it with satisfying results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe. I added some raspberries to the icing and the guests were delighted. The only caveat is that the cake turned a little dry quite quickly. Serve shortly after baking (within a day) or drizzle with cream to moisten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alistairsotherhalf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Very moist, somewhat tasty cake. Didn't care much for the flavor of the Dutch process cocoa (I finally found it in my local bulk food store...labeled as "pure alkalized cocoa.") Too mild a taste for my liking, and the texture was less than great. Next time will try substituting all-purpose flour & regular cocoa (Joyofbaking.com/cocoa says to use baking soda with this kind of cocoa, and baking powder with regular so I'll probably have to substitute baking soda with the powder too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIGIGROOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lockeport, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
The only reason I wouldn't give this a 5 star is that it is VERY chocolatey. I loved it, but it was too rich for some. It really is like a brownie with icing! Chocolate lovers rejoice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I followed cake recipe exactly and it turned out perfect! It is extremely moist. The icing I decided to change the recipe a bit and added approx. 3 tbsp. of cream cheese. The icing turned out awesome although next time I may use slightly less milk to thicken up the icing. Thanks for the recipe!!! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I'm not sure what the texture is supposed to be like with this recipe, but mine turned out more like a brownie than a cake. The guys at work thought it was great, but I wasn't impressed. I don't think it's worth the time or the dirty dishes it takes to prepare this cake. I will not be saving this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
fabulous recipe! Didn't change a thing, however made a triple batch of the frosting and it did 2 double layer cakes with a little left over! Take the advice of the other reviewer on how to make Dutch Process Chocolate if you don't have it.....add the 1/8 tsp to every 3 TBS of Hershey's Unsweetened Cocoa Powder...it makes a difference! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonysgdbg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States