Mafioso Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
turned out moist and sweet...I used less flour and next will cut down on the sugar..but everyone loved the cake..definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I selected this recipe because I had the ingredients and we were in the mood for a dessert with dinner. It didn't disappoint! Thanks. For sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This was wonderful! Made as written, except I made a layer cake and put the chocolate ganache recipe from this site between the layers. I think I may have wasted a step (even though it was very good!) because this icing recipe is remarkable. And like other reviewers, would like to say that the icing stays very nice and doesn't harden. I used the exact measurements and ingredients listed. Baked in two 8" pans for 40 minutes. I think my oven runs a little cold, so you should probably check for doneness at 35 minutes if making a layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This is the first review I am leaving here, because this is a fantastic cake and the best recipe I have tried on this site so far. My husband and I don't even like most cake, but this one was not too sweet, not crumbly, and not dry. The recipe seemed a little complicated and I made a few small changes (1/2 AP and 1/2 whole wheat flour, mix of natural and Dutch process cocoa, used melted butter), but it wasn't difficult at all and my co-workers loved it. I was worried that there is no salt in the recipe and I used unsalted butter, but no one missed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
delicious! Cooking time was longer then stated. I used 1 3/4 AP flour and the cake was moist like a pudding cake. Not dense or heavy at all. I followed the recipe as written except the flour and there was lots of flavor. Rich and chocolaty.The frosting is the finishing touch to this cake. My Husband says the strawberries I used to decorate the cake with just put it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I make a half batch of icing, a full batch is far too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Truly a lovely cake recipe! Dense enough for cupcakes (which was my use) and sweet enough to need just a sprinkle of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I LOVE this cake. I have made it many times and it always turns out perfect. Even the baking time is 100% which is amazing, as ovens and weather etc often affect how long it takes. Haven't tried the icing, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ida vB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Copenhagen, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Hands down one of the best chocolate cakes I've ever eaten and absolutely the best I've personally made! So moist! Shared this cake while having guests over and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This recipe is awesome!!! I've been making it for over 5 years and everyone loves it. My mom even loves it and she is not a big chocolate fan. I've given the recipe to people and always tell them not to change a thing, or else... The frosting even comes out great and I failed frosting 101. Thanks for the awesome recipe. --Boxofrain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States