Madeleines II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by lizechin
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
These came out fluffy on the inside and a little crispy on the outside. It's my first time making/eating Madeleines, so I don't really know how they are supposed to turn out. Even so, my friends and I enjoyed them way too much. So much that my friends asked me to make them another batch for their next golf round! =) Fresh lemons are a little hard to get my hand on here, so I just doubled the vanilla extract to 1 teaspoon. My first batch of 12 came out a bit too dark, so I put the second batch in for only 8 minutes. The bottoms came out a gorgeous golden brown. Everything else worked out great for me! Thanks for the yummy recipe. ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizechin

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
turned out great everyone loved them. much easier than I expected
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
I love this recipe the only thing I did Not like about it is that it's tooooooo lemony. i would make it again but drop the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clarkdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
So awesome, so light, so fluffy, so what a Madeleine should be! I did not have a lemon in the house, so I just added 1/4 tsp. of lemon extract. Bought the madeleine pan at BB&Beyond for close to $12 with coupon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I really like this recipes. I wish the madeleines was more crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
the texture was really nice, but I really think I should have left out the lemmon. It would have been better with just the buttery taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This recipe was easy to follow but I am not sure that this is how Madeleine's cookies are suppose to taste. They came out very light and airy while Madeleine's are suppose to be dense and buttery. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillymuffin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ashland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
The taste was really good...but being that I'm vegan I tried veganising it...and it didn't really work out...but I will continue to work at it! Thanks so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I doubled the recipe using the scaling mechanism below the recipe and and they came out terribly. Do not double!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I had a pan with 12 large Madeleine shells, and I only baked them for around 8 minutes which was perfect for me. The first time I baked them for 10 and they came out burnt on the edges and quickly became stiff. After taking off a few minutes they came out great -- moist, spongy, etc. I gave them a three because I'm sure they came out how they were supposed to but the recipe didn't boost the cookie to one of my favorites. I will only make these on occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkpigeon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Campania, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States