Madeleines II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This recipe is simple and delicious. I bought a silicone madeleine pan that makes 24 small madeleines and this recipe made a total of 48. They were only about 1 1/2 inches long. Don't try to substitute or omit the lemon zest - it gives them the perfect tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonjagroset

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Delicious! Would recommend it to everyone, even if you don't have a Madeleine tin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
So this recipe was super simple. I think I was doing too many things at once and wasn't really paying attention to how i was mixing. but it turned out well, lil hint of sweetness n the lemon zest adds a great smell. i didn't have a madeleine mold bake pan, so i just used a mini cupcake/tart bake pan. turned out fine to me, and they still looked cute haha. instead of using oil to grease the pan, i used crisco, and they didn't really stick, just took a toothpick (or knife) and went around the edges, and they popped out! GREAT RECIPE! Thanks! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This was by far the best Madeleine recipe I have come by! There were a few changes I made to this recipe, technique wise. I filled my pan a little bit more that 3/4 way full, but they still came out the perfect size and shape. Also, I would suggest not using a knife to take them out of the pan. If you grease and flour correctly, once cooled they will fall right out if you just tap the edge. I also found that baking mine for 10 minutes made them too crunchy and brown on the outside, and a bit too dry for my taste. For a spongier, softer Madeleine, reduce the baking time to eight minutes. They will still be brown around the edge, but be light yellow in color on the top. I love this recipe! On my second batch right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. The batter is kind of solid so it's difficult to pour into the molds, and instead of rising as they cook they leak out of the molds to make a huge mess. I followed the ingredients/directions exactly but the finished product did not taste like a madeleine should at all, more like a sugar cookie instead of cake-like. The other madeleine recipe I used from allrecipes worked so much better, and they actually looked and tasted like madeleines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Great recipe. My family love it. Thank you .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
recipe was amazing and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I gave this four stars because its good and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
this is such a fantastic and easy recipe. have already made these several times! my little boy loves to help. i took the advice of some of the reviewers and liberally buttered and floured the madeleine pan and had no problem removing them from the pan. another thing i've done the past two times i've baked them was used lemon extract (1/4 tsp. extract = 1/2 tsp. zest) because i didn't have any lemons on hand. the zest is better if you have the lemons and time but the extract still makes for tasty madeleines and they still don't last long around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Wonderful recipe. Light and airy inside crisp outside. Had trouble getting them out of the pan too. I think I'm going to invest in a non-stick madeleine pan. Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Kingstown, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States