Madeleines II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Just made some and came out of the oven perfect. My house smells wondeful and it tastes wondeful as well. I didn't have the madeleine pan but used the Martha Stewart tea cakes pan and they came out beautifully. My two critics, ages 4 and 2, gave it 4 thumbs up...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tia
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
So so good! I've already baked them three times. I feel embarrassed but the first batch I ate all by myself LOL They are fantastic! I didn't have a madeleines baking sheet so I made them into cupcakes. Awesome!!! So so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
These are AMAZING. I kid you not. I made these for some friends a few weeks ago- I tripled the recipe, left with about half, and when I came back my family had eaten every last delicious shell-shaped morsel. Didn't have lemon, so I used grapefruit zest instead, and it was still great- it gave the Madeleines a certain inimitable quality that can't be described... You couldn't really put a finger on the flavoring (or maybe I just have a very unrefined sense of taste!). I have also added crushed lavender or essence of bergamot to various batches, dipped them in Nutella.. You can't really mess these up! I also found through trial and error that it helps not to over-mix... I usually tend to do this unintentiounally but it makes them a bit tough... We might want our Ron Swansons tough, but not our Madeleines, am I right? :) So, gist: Great recipe. Worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This recipe is simple and delicious. I bought a silicone madeleine pan that makes 24 small madeleines and this recipe made a total of 48. They were only about 1 1/2 inches long. Don't try to substitute or omit the lemon zest - it gives them the perfect tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonjagroset
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Delicious! Would recommend it to everyone, even if you don't have a Madeleine tin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
So this recipe was super simple. I think I was doing too many things at once and wasn't really paying attention to how i was mixing. but it turned out well, lil hint of sweetness n the lemon zest adds a great smell. i didn't have a madeleine mold bake pan, so i just used a mini cupcake/tart bake pan. turned out fine to me, and they still looked cute haha. instead of using oil to grease the pan, i used crisco, and they didn't really stick, just took a toothpick (or knife) and went around the edges, and they popped out! GREAT RECIPE! Thanks! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This was by far the best Madeleine recipe I have come by! There were a few changes I made to this recipe, technique wise. I filled my pan a little bit more that 3/4 way full, but they still came out the perfect size and shape. Also, I would suggest not using a knife to take them out of the pan. If you grease and flour correctly, once cooled they will fall right out if you just tap the edge. I also found that baking mine for 10 minutes made them too crunchy and brown on the outside, and a bit too dry for my taste. For a spongier, softer Madeleine, reduce the baking time to eight minutes. They will still be brown around the edge, but be light yellow in color on the top. I love this recipe! On my second batch right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. The batter is kind of solid so it's difficult to pour into the molds, and instead of rising as they cook they leak out of the molds to make a huge mess. I followed the ingredients/directions exactly but the finished product did not taste like a madeleine should at all, more like a sugar cookie instead of cake-like. The other madeleine recipe I used from allrecipes worked so much better, and they actually looked and tasted like madeleines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Great recipe. My family love it. Thank you .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
recipe was amazing and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alice yeh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States