Madeleines II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Very good and I had no eggs on hand so substituted with Mayo. That might sound weird but it works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
they did not turn out at all, more like a merengue on top that crumbled and the bottoms were chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Aikenhead-Jackson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This was the first time I had made Madeleines. I added the zest of an entire lemon and about a Tablespoon of poppyseeds. I baked them at 350 per some other reviewers. They took 13 mins to bake (but I think my oven is a bit on the cool-side). I greased the pans with some of the melted butter and then floured them and the Madeleines fell right out after cooling about 1 min on wire racks. I dusted them with icing sugar and we ate them warm. They were absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Wonderful! My pan was a different size and I had to adjust for that. 8 minutes for the little ones is perfect. I can't wait to try this with different flavors (like mentioned above- orange liqueur is going to be my first new one.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Worked great! They came our nice and were not airy. I used a teflon pan and Crisco butter spray. Slid them right out afterwards onto cooling sheet. I also used. Truvia baking blend in place of traditional confec sugar. I liked the texture, and pretty dense. Maybe no zeat next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Followed the directions exactly as they read and everything turned out delicious! I used a rounded tablespoon of batter and I think that was the perfect amount. Note: I wanted red & blue madeleines, even after 10 drops of food coloring, the "reds" were actually a coral color and the "blues" were teal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This was an incredibly easy recipe! I used a full teaspoon of both the Vanilla and the Lemon Zest and the flavor was just a bit too much lemon for me. Next time I'll stick to the recommended 1/2 tsp. I will definitely use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FoodisFun
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Love Love Love these. I found 2 Madeline pans at the thrift store and thought I'll make some of those. I subbed orange oil for lemon zest and the only flour I had in the pantry was bread flour. To my amazement my batch came out like little orange cakes. They fell while cooking (I think I filled them too full)& I was quite concerned but they are heavenly. So light. I did fold the flour in by hand as I was concerned about the using bread flour and thought they were doomed to fail but hubby agrees they are lovely. Photo is of the single "cake" that was not overfilled and fell the least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodisFun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Just made some and came out of the oven perfect. My house smells wondeful and it tastes wondeful as well. I didn't have the madeleine pan but used the Martha Stewart tea cakes pan and they came out beautifully. My two critics, ages 4 and 2, gave it 4 thumbs up...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tia
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
So so good! I've already baked them three times. I feel embarrassed but the first batch I ate all by myself LOL They are fantastic! I didn't have a madeleines baking sheet so I made them into cupcakes. Awesome!!! So so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States