Madeleines II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by mimisweb
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Thank you for this recipe. I have always loved madeleines and found a pan at a very reasonable price today. I was very excited to make them and very surprised when I started Googling recipes and saw how complicated many of them looked. It just seemed like a lot of trouble for a very simple cookie. I was a little skeptical with the powdered sugar on this one, but decided to give it a try. To be honest, I literally threw all ingredients together at once except the flour, which I didn't sift, but did add slowly. The batter still came out light and airy and the end product came out perfectly. My family inhaled them. Thanks again for this super easy recipe of a classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I made these today and I loved them! I used orange zest instead because I didn't have a lemon and then dusted them with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Very good and I had no eggs on hand so substituted with Mayo. That might sound weird but it works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
they did not turn out at all, more like a merengue on top that crumbled and the bottoms were chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Aikenhead-Jackson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This was the first time I had made Madeleines. I added the zest of an entire lemon and about a Tablespoon of poppyseeds. I baked them at 350 per some other reviewers. They took 13 mins to bake (but I think my oven is a bit on the cool-side). I greased the pans with some of the melted butter and then floured them and the Madeleines fell right out after cooling about 1 min on wire racks. I dusted them with icing sugar and we ate them warm. They were absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Wonderful! My pan was a different size and I had to adjust for that. 8 minutes for the little ones is perfect. I can't wait to try this with different flavors (like mentioned above- orange liqueur is going to be my first new one.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Worked great! They came our nice and were not airy. I used a teflon pan and Crisco butter spray. Slid them right out afterwards onto cooling sheet. I also used. Truvia baking blend in place of traditional confec sugar. I liked the texture, and pretty dense. Maybe no zeat next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Followed the directions exactly as they read and everything turned out delicious! I used a rounded tablespoon of batter and I think that was the perfect amount. Note: I wanted red & blue madeleines, even after 10 drops of food coloring, the "reds" were actually a coral color and the "blues" were teal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This was an incredibly easy recipe! I used a full teaspoon of both the Vanilla and the Lemon Zest and the flavor was just a bit too much lemon for me. Next time I'll stick to the recommended 1/2 tsp. I will definitely use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FoodisFun
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Love Love Love these. I found 2 Madeline pans at the thrift store and thought I'll make some of those. I subbed orange oil for lemon zest and the only flour I had in the pantry was bread flour. To my amazement my batch came out like little orange cakes. They fell while cooking (I think I filled them too full)& I was quite concerned but they are heavenly. So light. I did fold the flour in by hand as I was concerned about the using bread flour and thought they were doomed to fail but hubby agrees they are lovely. Photo is of the single "cake" that was not overfilled and fell the least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodisFun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States