Madeleines II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Worked great! They came our nice and were not airy. I used a teflon pan and Crisco butter spray. Slid them right out afterwards onto cooling sheet. I also used. Truvia baking blend in place of traditional confec sugar. I liked the texture, and pretty dense. Maybe no zeat next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Followed the directions exactly as they read and everything turned out delicious! I used a rounded tablespoon of batter and I think that was the perfect amount. Note: I wanted red & blue madeleines, even after 10 drops of food coloring, the "reds" were actually a coral color and the "blues" were teal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This was an incredibly easy recipe! I used a full teaspoon of both the Vanilla and the Lemon Zest and the flavor was just a bit too much lemon for me. Next time I'll stick to the recommended 1/2 tsp. I will definitely use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FoodisFun
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Love Love Love these. I found 2 Madeline pans at the thrift store and thought I'll make some of those. I subbed orange oil for lemon zest and the only flour I had in the pantry was bread flour. To my amazement my batch came out like little orange cakes. They fell while cooking (I think I filled them too full)& I was quite concerned but they are heavenly. So light. I did fold the flour in by hand as I was concerned about the using bread flour and thought they were doomed to fail but hubby agrees they are lovely. Photo is of the single "cake" that was not overfilled and fell the least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodisFun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Just made some and came out of the oven perfect. My house smells wondeful and it tastes wondeful as well. I didn't have the madeleine pan but used the Martha Stewart tea cakes pan and they came out beautifully. My two critics, ages 4 and 2, gave it 4 thumbs up...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tia
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
So so good! I've already baked them three times. I feel embarrassed but the first batch I ate all by myself LOL They are fantastic! I didn't have a madeleines baking sheet so I made them into cupcakes. Awesome!!! So so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
These are AMAZING. I kid you not. I made these for some friends a few weeks ago- I tripled the recipe, left with about half, and when I came back my family had eaten every last delicious shell-shaped morsel. Didn't have lemon, so I used grapefruit zest instead, and it was still great- it gave the Madeleines a certain inimitable quality that can't be described... You couldn't really put a finger on the flavoring (or maybe I just have a very unrefined sense of taste!). I have also added crushed lavender or essence of bergamot to various batches, dipped them in Nutella.. You can't really mess these up! I also found through trial and error that it helps not to over-mix... I usually tend to do this unintentiounally but it makes them a bit tough... We might want our Ron Swansons tough, but not our Madeleines, am I right? :) So, gist: Great recipe. Worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This recipe is simple and delicious. I bought a silicone madeleine pan that makes 24 small madeleines and this recipe made a total of 48. They were only about 1 1/2 inches long. Don't try to substitute or omit the lemon zest - it gives them the perfect tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonjagroset

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Delicious! Would recommend it to everyone, even if you don't have a Madeleine tin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
So this recipe was super simple. I think I was doing too many things at once and wasn't really paying attention to how i was mixing. but it turned out well, lil hint of sweetness n the lemon zest adds a great smell. i didn't have a madeleine mold bake pan, so i just used a mini cupcake/tart bake pan. turned out fine to me, and they still looked cute haha. instead of using oil to grease the pan, i used crisco, and they didn't really stick, just took a toothpick (or knife) and went around the edges, and they popped out! GREAT RECIPE! Thanks! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States