Madeleines II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
This recipe turned out perfect for me! The cookies are light and sweet the perfect compliment to coffee or tea. Some people had difficulty getting them out of the pan and my advice would be to use shortening (like crisco) to grease the pan and then dust well with flour. Make sure your eggs are room temperature when you start and not right out of the fridge our they will grow and froth up too much. Other hints... oh i tapped the pan on the counter instead of using a knife to loosten and they just fell right out. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Unfortunately, this recipe turned into a complete disaster for me. I followed the recipe but I used Pastry Flour like I always do with all my baking. I am not sure if that's why it turned out so bad but the madeleines were very airy, impossible to get them out the pan. We had to eat them out of the pan, spooning out anything we could get. It tasted ok, that wasn't the problem....just the fact that it was impossible to get them out and not at all the texture of what madeleines should be. Maybe it is just impossible to make them using pastry flour so if you are someone like me who only use pastry flour (whole grain soft wheat flour, high in fiber), do not try this recipe. Pastry flour always worked for my cakes and muffins, even cookies but I guess not for madeleine. Stick to all purpose flour and as everyone else recommends make sure you really butter and flour the pan. I thought I had done a pretty good job but apparently not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
These are sooo good! I'm not a huge fan of lemon, so the second time I made these I reduced the zest by half and added a couple extra drops of vanilla. My only tip would be for really pretty madeleines make sure you wash and re-grease & flour your pan for the second batch if you have only a 12 madeleine pan. I made them plain, sifted some confectioners sugar over some, and dipped the tips of others in a homemade maple frosting. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lysa
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
PERFECT! I can't stop eating them. They are soooo good. Just be sure to grease and flour your pan generously. I used shortening to grease as recommended by another reviewer. Also, this recipe requires at least 10 minutes of mixing with the electric mixer but they are worth the effort. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lysa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
Great recipe-I replaced the lemon flavoring with 1 tsp.orange liqueur & everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This recipe was easy to follow but I am not sure that this is how Madeleine's cookies are suppose to taste. They came out very light and airy while Madeleine's are suppose to be dense and buttery. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillymuffin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ashland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2000
I can't believe how easy this recipe was; the cookies turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
The medeleines turned out to be perfect! The outside is crisp and the inside is soft and buttery. The only problem I encountered was when I was trying to pop them out of the pans, so butter and flour the pan generously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Excellent recipe! I just added a few more drops of vanilla, but that's just a personal preference. This recipe is also really simple as compared to some other recipes I found online.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
Yum! We made these as Christmas gifts in 2000 and called them Madeline's Madeleines. They're somewhat time consuming but worth the effort. Also, they don't last long in storage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States