Madeleines II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
This recipe turned out perfect for me! The cookies are light and sweet the perfect compliment to coffee or tea. Some people had difficulty getting them out of the pan and my advice would be to use shortening (like crisco) to grease the pan and then dust well with flour. Make sure your eggs are room temperature when you start and not right out of the fridge our they will grow and froth up too much. Other hints... oh i tapped the pan on the counter instead of using a knife to loosten and they just fell right out. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I've been making this recipe for all my friends and this is a sure winner, even with the ladies ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Unfortunately, this recipe turned into a complete disaster for me. I followed the recipe but I used Pastry Flour like I always do with all my baking. I am not sure if that's why it turned out so bad but the madeleines were very airy, impossible to get them out the pan. We had to eat them out of the pan, spooning out anything we could get. It tasted ok, that wasn't the problem....just the fact that it was impossible to get them out and not at all the texture of what madeleines should be. Maybe it is just impossible to make them using pastry flour so if you are someone like me who only use pastry flour (whole grain soft wheat flour, high in fiber), do not try this recipe. Pastry flour always worked for my cakes and muffins, even cookies but I guess not for madeleine. Stick to all purpose flour and as everyone else recommends make sure you really butter and flour the pan. I thought I had done a pretty good job but apparently not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Great! for the person who found this a cake a little dry-- I have found that the darker non-stick molds tend to overcook. make sure your mold is bright aluminum and grease and flour well! alaskababa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKABABA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
The medeleines turned out to be perfect! The outside is crisp and the inside is soft and buttery. The only problem I encountered was when I was trying to pop them out of the pans, so butter and flour the pan generously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
Fantastic recipe. Soft on the inside with a nice buttery-lemony taste. They were a hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Delicious but a little dry. I baked one batch until just the little bit golden and the other even less but I'm not sure how to rectify the dryness. Any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by suburbanaproncompany
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
These are excellent!!!!! YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suburbanaproncompany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci, Sheridan OR
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This Madeleine cookie recipe was a big hit at our house. Simple to make in my new KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer -- the first recipe I tried with it. The cookies were light as air and marvelous dipped in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci, Sheridan OR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sheridan, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States