Mad Hatter Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I made this last weekend for a family gathering and it went over really well! Even with my husband, who would normally turn up his nose. I added some pea pods from a bagged veggie mix that were left over and also some celery for a little more crunch. I subbed the apple cider vinegar with half white wine vinegar and half balsamic. Plus a splash of sesame oil, just because I love the flavor so much. I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This was really really great! I didnt have a slaw mix so i chopped 1/4 head of cabbage and it worked fine. The only thing i may change about this recipe id that it is a little on the sweet side so i'd omit some sugar, and maybe add a little more vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I love this salad and every time I take it to a gathering others ask me for the recipe. I change it up by adding other vegetables, like red, yellow and orange peppers for added color. I also like to replace the almonds with walnuts. I usually keep the nut/ramen mixture separate and add it just before serving depending on how many are being served, I then have some left for the next day (I find that the ramen noodles get soggy if mixed and kept overnight). I will also use the nut/ramen mixture on a regular green salad with craisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I made this again tonight for the 2nd time. Love, love, love it! I cut down on the broccoli, and only used 1 pkg. ramen noodles, and half the sauce ingr's. I added more soy sauce (cos I love it), salt, pepper, and a dash of sesame oil. Tonight I found hubby had eaten all the sunflower seeds, so I used white and black sesame seeds instead. This recipe is a definite keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie55
Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This was very good. I thought it was better after it had sat for a day though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Awesome recipe, tasted great! I made some changes with my 2nd batch to make it a bit healthier and it still tastes wonderful. *no butter, olive oil only. I added a small amt to skillet and probably 1/4c for the dressing base. *1 pkg of ramen with 1 seasoning pack. *2 tablespoons of white sugar. *reduced sodium soy sauce. From there I just eye-balled the dressing amount, added a few tablespoons of water to stretch it (taste as you go). I used slivered almonds because that's all I had and added some black poppy seeds at the end. I mix it the day before (all of it) and think it tastes best after setting a day. I think next time I'm going to add raisins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was a big hit. I tried it with ramen and without, and preferred it without. I reduced the sugar by about 1/4, and added sesame oil and sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I have to admit I tried this recipe mostly because the mixture of ingredients intrigued me. And boy was I surprised at how wonderful this salad was. I loved the crunch from the seeds, nuts and ramen noodles and I loved the mellowness of the coleslaw mix. This was an awesome take on coleslaw and I can't wait to make this for all the summer picnics. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marshmallory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Sooooooo good. Mixed the slaw and dressing in advance then added the nut mixture as I served.... perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junebug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mad Hatter Salad

A slaw-based salad with broccoli florets, ramen noodles, and a tangy dressing.

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States