Mad Hatter Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I'm going to make this on Sunday for a family BBQ. Just wondering if anyone has substituted the apple cider vinegar with apple juice. I never have apple cider vinegar in the house but always have apple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
this was an excellent choice for our clambake/potluck at camp. Many people raved about it,and many asked me for the recipe.. My husband made me save a bowl of it before I brought it to our function. I did use oriental ramen noodles. and I also cut back on the butter and sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Outstanding! Welcome change from the soggy, mayo drenched slaw you get in restaurants. I also cut down on the butter and sugar and it was still delicious! This is the ONLY cole slaw recipe I'll use from now on. Try it, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Delicious! I even changed a lot to make it a bit healthier and to suit my food allergies - substituted liquid stevia for the sugar, used 1/2 the amount of butter, omitted ramen noodles & seasoning, and omitted the soy sauce - and it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I just made this and it is unbelievably good! It tastes like a restaurant salad. The two different guests I had both took some home with them because they wanted more! I left out the onions, used only one oriental ramen noodle, 1/2 the butter and 1/2 the sugar. Make it, you won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
This is so good-I never get to bring any home from parties and now I get requests to make it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I DID alter the recipe a little….see bottom. The best salad out there, doesn't matter the time of year, occasion, etc…it's always a hit. My roomie had never had it before, said she prob wouldn't like it, I came home from work and it was gone :) It's so easy to fix, cheap for crowd and/or potluck dinner, etc. AND if it starts getting low I simply crush up a pack or two more of ramen noodles, no cooking or toasting, and add them to the bowl, they blend right in and the fresh crunch is delicious! Changes made: There's no way you need 1/2 cup butter, I use a wok to do the noodles, etc and only use 1/4 or so, you can always add if you need to. sunflower seeds are used if I have them, if not the salad toppings mixture you can buy is delicious in moderation. I reduce the sugar to 1/4 and actually INCREASE the part apple cider vinegar(/veggie oil mixture), just to taste, I like the tanginess. Soy sauce can also be added to taste in my opinion, but 1tsp is perfect to start. Just depends on how much flavor you like. It's my favorite to keep in the house, great in every way, THANK YOU FOR THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandie25

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
made this for my daughters 12th birthday. Huge sucess!! everyone at the party loved it thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Yum!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
This made a ton; I was hoping for leftovers but my family licked the bowl clean! I made the following adjustments due to my son's nut and shellfish allergies: I eliminated the almonds and used David brand roasted/salted/shelled sunflower seeds. Instead of using the ramen flavor packets (due to possible shellfish warning) I used 2 tsp. of powdered chicken boullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mad Hatter Salad

A slaw-based salad with broccoli florets, ramen noodles, and a tangy dressing.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States