Mad Hatter Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This was really really great! I didnt have a slaw mix so i chopped 1/4 head of cabbage and it worked fine. The only thing i may change about this recipe id that it is a little on the sweet side so i'd omit some sugar, and maybe add a little more vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I love this salad and every time I take it to a gathering others ask me for the recipe. I change it up by adding other vegetables, like red, yellow and orange peppers for added color. I also like to replace the almonds with walnuts. I usually keep the nut/ramen mixture separate and add it just before serving depending on how many are being served, I then have some left for the next day (I find that the ramen noodles get soggy if mixed and kept overnight). I will also use the nut/ramen mixture on a regular green salad with craisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I made this again tonight for the 2nd time. Love, love, love it! I cut down on the broccoli, and only used 1 pkg. ramen noodles, and half the sauce ingr's. I added more soy sauce (cos I love it), salt, pepper, and a dash of sesame oil. Tonight I found hubby had eaten all the sunflower seeds, so I used white and black sesame seeds instead. This recipe is a definite keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie55
Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This was very good. I thought it was better after it had sat for a day though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Awesome recipe, tasted great! I made some changes with my 2nd batch to make it a bit healthier and it still tastes wonderful. *no butter, olive oil only. I added a small amt to skillet and probably 1/4c for the dressing base. *1 pkg of ramen with 1 seasoning pack. *2 tablespoons of white sugar. *reduced sodium soy sauce. From there I just eye-balled the dressing amount, added a few tablespoons of water to stretch it (taste as you go). I used slivered almonds because that's all I had and added some black poppy seeds at the end. I mix it the day before (all of it) and think it tastes best after setting a day. I think next time I'm going to add raisins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was a big hit. I tried it with ramen and without, and preferred it without. I reduced the sugar by about 1/4, and added sesame oil and sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I have to admit I tried this recipe mostly because the mixture of ingredients intrigued me. And boy was I surprised at how wonderful this salad was. I loved the crunch from the seeds, nuts and ramen noodles and I loved the mellowness of the coleslaw mix. This was an awesome take on coleslaw and I can't wait to make this for all the summer picnics. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marshmallory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Sooooooo good. Mixed the slaw and dressing in advance then added the nut mixture as I served.... perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junebug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I made my own coleslaw, red cabbage, green, and come carrots. I used 1/3 c sugar, and substituted olive oil in. I put the almonds with the noodles under the broiler, not butter....loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan McCann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mad Hatter Salad

A slaw-based salad with broccoli florets, ramen noodles, and a tangy dressing.

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States