Mad Hatter Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I just made this and it is unbelievably good! It tastes like a restaurant salad. The two different guests I had both took some home with them because they wanted more! I left out the onions, used only one oriental ramen noodle, 1/2 the butter and 1/2 the sugar. Make it, you won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
This is so good-I never get to bring any home from parties and now I get requests to make it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I DID alter the recipe a little….see bottom. The best salad out there, doesn't matter the time of year, occasion, etc…it's always a hit. My roomie had never had it before, said she prob wouldn't like it, I came home from work and it was gone :) It's so easy to fix, cheap for crowd and/or potluck dinner, etc. AND if it starts getting low I simply crush up a pack or two more of ramen noodles, no cooking or toasting, and add them to the bowl, they blend right in and the fresh crunch is delicious! Changes made: There's no way you need 1/2 cup butter, I use a wok to do the noodles, etc and only use 1/4 or so, you can always add if you need to. sunflower seeds are used if I have them, if not the salad toppings mixture you can buy is delicious in moderation. I reduce the sugar to 1/4 and actually INCREASE the part apple cider vinegar(/veggie oil mixture), just to taste, I like the tanginess. Soy sauce can also be added to taste in my opinion, but 1tsp is perfect to start. Just depends on how much flavor you like. It's my favorite to keep in the house, great in every way, THANK YOU FOR THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandie25

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
made this for my daughters 12th birthday. Huge sucess!! everyone at the party loved it thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Yum!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
This made a ton; I was hoping for leftovers but my family licked the bowl clean! I made the following adjustments due to my son's nut and shellfish allergies: I eliminated the almonds and used David brand roasted/salted/shelled sunflower seeds. Instead of using the ramen flavor packets (due to possible shellfish warning) I used 2 tsp. of powdered chicken boullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
So, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xchristax

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Made this salad for a birthday, everyone loved it! Since I more than doubled the recipe, I made a few changes. Added a red bell pepper for color, shredded the cabbage myself. I only used half of the sugar for the dressing and less butter for toasting. Since I couldn't find unsalted sunflower seeds, I used mostly unsalted soy nuts and added only a few sunflower seed kernels to the dry mix. - This recipe is definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ClaudiB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cordova, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Oh my goodness this is definitely a keeper for me. It's addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
It was a bit nutty for my taste but the dressing was just amazing. It was SO good. I'd use it on any salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkpeach81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mad Hatter Salad

A slaw-based salad with broccoli florets, ramen noodles, and a tangy dressing.

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States