Mad Hatter Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Yum! I substituted oriental flavored ramen, used broccoli slaw and added one yellow, orange and red bell pepper to replace the broccoli. I also added salad shrimp and mandarin oranges, I believe the oranges are a must. My only two qualms were that the seed/nut/noodle blend doesn't toast evenly at all and my sunflower seeds were burnt before my almonds were toasted. Also, this dressing is great but WAY too sweet... Think I'll add extra vinegar and citrus next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Loved the ingredients but the sugar needs to be cut down. Shredded a mixture of green cabbage and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
love this recipe!! It makes a ton so bring it to a big gathering!! Tastes great and so great on the asian burger on this site. A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This is a very good salad that went well with 'Asian Barbeque Burgers' from AR. To help cut the calories, I did not brown the nut/noodle mixture in the butter. Instead, I toasted them in the oven for 10 minutes at 250°. I made a half a recipe using an partial head of cabbage that I sliced as thin as I could get. The broccoli was a nice addition and I added a little carrot, just for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This was a very good salad. The only thing I didn't like about it was adding the seasoning mix of the ramen noodles. Whereas it tasted good with the toppings, there's something about adding that processed season mix to a healthy salad that just doesn't seem right. I'd like to try adding my own seasonings in the future. But everyone liked it, so I have to give it a good rating. The dressing was excellent, but to make it healthier, I cut the sugar in half. I also cut the butter in half when browning the nuts and ramen noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I tried this for the first time to take to Easter dinner. I had to try it the night before because it smelled so good, and I wanted to try it before anyone else. I have read alot of the reviews and alot of other recipes that are similar to this... So this i why I want to put in my review. I didn't use pre-shredded cabbage, just because I needed to make more. So I used about 1/2 small head of red & the same of green cabbage, shredded 2 carrots, then instead of white vinegar 1/2 white and 1/2 balsamic vinegar. I added about 1/2 cup diced red onions because they were already cut. 1 1/2 stalk of celery diced. I remembered all the different recipes so I got home from the grocery store with 1/2 cup sliced almonds and 1/2 cup salted sunflower seeds. I only had 1 oriental, 1 chicken and 1 creamy chicken Ramen. I used the oriental in all the liquid, mixed well and added a little salt and pepper then mixed into veggies. The other two packets I mixed into the ramen, almonds & sunflowers seeds and then sauteed for about 7 minutes in 1/2 cup butter. I had some Bran/Sesame sticks on hand so I topped the salad after ,mixed together and it was the BOMB!! Thank you I will make this again as a MAIN dish with chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Huge hit at a birthday party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
AB so LUTEly delicious. Had no broccoli, used packaged Cole slaw, took pchbloom's suggestion to add mandarin oranges sections to the salad. Just had a bowl full, am about to have some more. Everything works together so well. Thank you for the recipe, Busy Mom of 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I just made this salad exactly as written. It is really yummy! This makes a really large salad so be sure to use a big bowl. It would be perfect to take to a party or to a church gathering. Thank you Busy Mom for contributing this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mad Hatter Salad

A slaw-based salad with broccoli florets, ramen noodles, and a tangy dressing.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States