Mad Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Made these for dinner the other nigh and they were excellent. My big kid and my young kids loved it- So this will be repeat meal another time. I chopped white onios and used cheddar cheese. They came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I really liked these! I didn't think I would because I am not by any means a huge hot dog fan. I used Applegate Organic Beef Hot Dogs, and all natural seasoned bacon from Trader Joe's, as well as their Wisconsin Cheddar Cheese. The bacon didn't get too crispy even after cooking for a little longer than 15 minutes easily. The bacon slices I used were huge, though. Very long too. I would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karasmattic
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I run a youth ranch and they go nuts for these I do wrap them like a wiener wrap and it gives it more substance...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rickelkhunter35

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly as written but will do it a bit differently next time. Bacon was undercooked. I'll precook the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dryden, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Just tried this recipe, everything worked really well. I did however make some minor changes to the cooking method. I cooked my dogs on a cookie cooling rack placed over a cookie sheet. It cut down on the grease quite a bit. I had to cook my dogs for about 20 minutes total at 400 degrees but my oven is pretty old. I have been told that I am going to have to make this again, next time with jalapeno slices inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
kids loved these! I will use less thick bacon next time though to cut the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Made them for me and my boyfriend and it was our first time eating Mad Dogs. They were delicious! Only Difference is I used pre-shredded Cheddar and used only a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
We learned to make these 55 years ago in our Home Economics cooking class. We also added narrow spears of dill or sweet pickles inside the slit also. They were really good and I still make them occasionally. It's nice to see them here. Good memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Morrisville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Looks Amazing! Sound good for my kids & will be trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kirksville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Meh. Were they good? Yes. Anything with bacon and cheese is good to me. Were they something to rave about? No. As you can tell, it is really just a glorified and extra-fattening hot dog. Now, this is not to say that I won't make them again... ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2sabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States