Mad Cow Hamburger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I have had this recipe in my RB for 3 years! Finally got around to making these babies! Interesting flavor, black beans are so healthy for you! My grill wasn't working so I cooked them on the stove. I really liked the flavor! I served them on onion buns and onions inside, never enough onions! YUMO! LOL Thank You Rookie Wookie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
my husband said O.K. not the best, it was a little hard to cook on the grill, and i left out the egg. it tasted more like a meat loaf, may not cook again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Recipe was delicious! I made a few changes instead of fresh pepper, I used crushed pepper flakes; I also used some cracker crumbs to hold them together, but not enough to make really dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This was a great dish. The children loved it as well as the hubby!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe! They've got a little heat to 'em and overall looked and tasted great. I made some minor changes. I doubled the beans, halved the size of the patties, used serrano peppers instead of jalapeno's, and cooked them on an electric indoor grill. I finished them off with slices of cucumber to balance the heat. This one, is going in the books! I imagine it will become a household favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kingda Ka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Bland, bland, bland. There are MAJOR problems with this recipe. After prep, the burgers are like runny mounds of slop...good luck holding them together. Because of their runnienss, they stick to the grill and spread out like pancakes. After cooking, they come out extrememly dry! And the spice amounts...in 2 pounds of ground beef, what the heck is a 1/2 teaspoon of dried basil gonna do?? The only good thing about this is that the vegetables add a but of a snap and crunch when you're eatin' em. I'm not trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
This recipe is awesome! My husband and I love them. They are very filling. The only problem we had was that the patties fell apart a little. But they were still great and will become a regular for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
Well, I'm on a diet - so I thought I'd try these with ground turkey instead. It was really nasty - i do NOT recommend you use the low fat ground turkey with these. But, it seemed that these would be rather bad even if made with ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
I have to say, I was a bit skeptical of this recipe because it seemed like a little salad on a bun...but it was really good! Even those of you who don't like vegetables will like this recipe. What I did is scale the recipe down to 2 servings...that way if they turned out horrible, I wouldnt' have wasted too much food. Turns out, I would have been fine with the entire amount! My roomate really liked them, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Hamburger Ever

See how to make juicy grilled burgers loaded with good stuff.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States