Mac's Shoe-Fly Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvisgood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This made a HUGE loaf! It's hearty, sweet and moist. Quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Similar to the bread found at Outback Steakhouse. Lovely flavour, made as described
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This bread it fantastic and it rose beautifully! I altered it a bit by adding only 2 TBLS of molasses (it was all I had left) and I used 1 TBLS brown sugar to help add more flavor due to my lack of molasses. Finally, I left out the last addition of oats. Despite all of my alterations, this made a beautiful loaf. Also, I only made the dough in my machine and baked it in a regular loaf pan in the oven so its perfect for sandwiches. Yum! Thanks McReynolds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
awesome! everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISPYSTUFF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This bread came out better and more evenly shaped and cooked than most recipes for my bread machine. I was super happy with the moistness, the softness, and the color. The only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is that it has a slightly weird aftertaste. I did use half wheat flour though, so next time I will use only white and potentially give 5 stars. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momma_s
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I made a few minor changes: I left out the powdered milk and additional oats, replaced the water with warm milk (to give the bread a richer flavor, and keep the bread moist), and used 1.5 cups each of wheat and white flours. I also let the butter sit in the warm milk a bit to soften it up. This bread came out VERY moist, and a beautiful deep caramel color, but the flavor wasn't as unique as I expected it to be. Still yummy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I wish that there were options for four and a half stars. I made this by hand with my Kitchen Aid mixer instead of a bread machine. which I don't have. The measurements were spot-on, this didn't need any extra flour to get it to jump on the hook. I kneaded it with the hook for five minutes, then set it to rise in a greased bowl on my warm oven. The took forever to rise and when I went to form the bread, it formed really easy it was just pissy dough to work with. It fell easily. 30 minutes in a 350* oven and it was good to go. Great flavor, quite chewy. I plan on serving it with Hearty Bacon and Ranch Potato Soup. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This is the best bread machine recipe! I did not add the extra oatmeal and it turned out great. The family loved it. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Really enjoyed this bread. Made just as stated and the end result was a soft, slightly sweet delicious breakfast bread. Worth a try in your bread machine! :) Tks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Centenar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States